Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Hello all! I'm not an experient user of Linux, but I'm not also a complete noob (can install programs through console, do some C programming and compiling on it, etc.), ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Error using Mandrake's 10.1 update utility

Hello all!
    I'm not an experient user of Linux, but I'm not also a complete noob (can install programs through console, do some C programming and compiling on it, etc.), but not much.
    I went to Mandrake's Control Center, and tried to update my Mandrake, as there are many updates for this version of mine. When I used my Speedtouch 330 USB Modem, all worked fine, but now that I use an ADSL Router (bought it because it is easier to configure Internet with it, am I in Linux or in Windows). And when the update manager tries to get a list of mirror servers, It gives me an error saying it can't resolve the Mandrake server with the mirrors list. I have an SMC ADSL Barricade, router's firewall is on. I would be glad if you could help.

Edit: If you don't know why this problem is due to, please tell me a website where I can consult Mandrake Mirror list or even a mirror address (I would prefer the first, because I have limited international traffic on my ADSL account :P).

Thank you for your attention;

St3althcAt.

Linux Newbie
    I am also faceing this problem with my Mandrake 10.0 .

Any body please give us at list one mirror.

S. M. Ibrahim
    Registered Linux User # 394440

Pentium-IV 3.00 Ghz(Cache -2MB, 64 bit), 512 MB RAM , 128 MB agp, 160 GB Hdd (SATA)

Just Joined!
    I used my old mandrake installation cd's instead of using mandriva and now I have the same problem.

The update utility can't find a mirror list and I don't know where to change the URLfor the mirror list to the new mirror list at mandiva. I'm guessing that that would fix the problem.

Could somebody please help!?