Find the answer to your Linux question:
Yep. I'm very new at this linux thing. I'm a windows 98 FE kid who recently flattened to move to Mandrake 10.1. I was told that this is a fairly ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Mandrake 10.1 Help for a newbie

Yep. I'm very new at this linux thing. I'm a windows 98 FE kid who recently flattened to move to Mandrake 10.1. I was told that this is a fairly good flavor and I would enjoy how it just plain worked. I installed it, and when I boot and log-in, I'm stuck at the CLI. I know a bit of CL commands from using MS-DOS. Could anyone help me with things like sound configuration, and getting to the GUI?

-Mitch

Linux User
    For sound, you can try typing in alsaconf and then alsamixer and unmute anything that is muted by pressing "m" on the keyboard as well as adjusting any necessary volume levels by using the up and down arrow keys. And for the GUI or X, type in startx and see what it gives you.

Hope this helps.

Just Joined!

Re: Mandrake 10.1 Help for a newbie

Quote Originally Posted by miotch
    Yep. I'm very new at this linux thing. I'm a windows 98 FE kid who recently flattened to move to Mandrake 10.1. I was told that this is a fairly good flavor and I would enjoy how it just plain worked. I installed it, and when I boot and log-in, I'm stuck at the CLI. I know a bit of CL commands from using MS-DOS. Could anyone help me with things like sound configuration, and getting to the GUI?

-Mitch
    to start K.D.E from Terminal (like MS-DOS) just type

Code:
    startx
    BTW some good things in Terminal you should know

Getting root access - "su -"
    Directory files - "ls '/directory' " if you want to see for example hidden files you add -a and if the folder is mnt it will be like this "ls -a '/mnt'"
    To see file sizes N=number : "du --max-depth=N '/directory/directory/.../directory'"
    to open a *.run file type : "./filename" in that folder