Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
i just finished installing mandrake linux 10.1 (cd1 only) which went good with no problems. after it was done installing my computer rebooted but nothing happened! my computer picked up ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    5

    mandrake linux wont start...?


    i just finished installing mandrake linux 10.1 (cd1 only) which went good with no problems. after it was done installing my computer rebooted but nothing happened! my computer picked up xp like nothing had happned!

    why wont mandrake linux start?

    also i partitioned my hard drive, and installed linux on the partitioned hard drive.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    You installed Windows THEN Mandrake after the partitioning?

    It seems that you don't have a bootloader set up. Are you sure you selected one during the installation?

    Also, a Windows installation will overwrite your bootloader. If you installed Windows after Linux, you need to re-install your bootloader using something like Knoppix.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    Put your first Mandrake disc in the PC and reboot. When it asks choose recover mode and select repair bootloader option. It will pickup you lilo.conf if it was generated. See how you get on with that and post back. It may look a bit daunting, but it should work fine, and shouldn't take too long.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    5
    i reinstalled linux and got it to work.

    i think the reason it didnt work last time was becasue i had it install the bootloader at the start of the sector and not that MBR

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    5
    now im getting another problem!

    while in the installation phase it asked for a password and i said to log in without a password. but when i start linux it asks for a pass work and i never typed in a password.

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie sabin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    207
    Hmmm that's not a funny problem !
    During the installation, there's one login-password that's always asked to create : it's the root login-password. This way, only the root has the right to do crucial operations, while the normal users (including the computer's owner, for his own protection) can't have access to settings able to compromise the computer's functioning.

    I suppose that you forgot that you provided a root's login-pass.
    In the worst of the cases, you can chose "upgrade" while booting with mandrake's CD, I'm sorry but I don't know of a console solution for this prob, if you're asked the log-pass right after the startup.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    5
    ok thanks! ill just reformat and reainstall linux

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •