Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
the error is mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hda5, or too many mounted file systems it's cause i re format my partition from ntfs to fat32 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Malang, Indonesia
    Posts
    53

    error in mounting device


    the error is
    mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hda5,
    or too many mounted file systems


    it's cause i re format my partition from ntfs to fat32 and then i copy the file into new partition.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    can you post the /etc/fstab entry for that drive, it will need some editing due o you reformating it.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Malang, Indonesia
    Posts
    53

    the list

    # This file is edited by fstab-sync - see 'man fstab-sync' for details
    /dev/hda6 / ext3 noatime 1 1
    /dev/hda8 /home ext3 noatime 1 2
    /dev/hdc /mnt/cdrom iso9660 user,iocharset=iso8859-1,noauto,ro,exec 0 0
    none /mnt/floppy supermount dev=/dev/fd0,fs=ext2:vfat,--,umask=0,iocharset=iso8859-1,sync,codepage=850 0 0
    /dev/hda1 /mnt/win_c ntfs umask=0,nls=iso8859-1,ro 0 0
    /dev/hda5 /mnt/win_d ntfs umask=0,nls=iso8859-1,ro 0 0
    none /proc proc defaults 0 0
    /dev/hda7 swap swap defaults 0 0




    i got error in hda5

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    /dev/hda5 /mnt/win_d ntfs umask=0,nls=iso8859-1,ro 0 0
    change it to something like:
    Code:
    /dev/hda5 /mnt/win_d vfat umask=0,nls=iso8859-1,rw 0 0
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Malang, Indonesia
    Posts
    53

    ok...but................

    The document could not be saved, as it was not possible to write to file:/etc/fstab.
    Check that you have write access to this file or that enough disk space is available.

  7. #6
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    you need to do it as root, so in a terminal do this:
    Code:
    su -
    <enter root pass>
    kate /etc/fstab &
    replace kate with your favourite editor, e.g. gedit in gnome, xemacs, kwrite etc...
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Malang, Indonesia
    Posts
    53

    thnx

    thanx a lot

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •