Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Hello all. First I'm must admit that I'm a complete beginner with Linux. I need to compile some short C program that uses Xlib.h and Xutil.h libraries. I can't locate ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Can't find Xlib.h and Xutil.h files (solved)

Hello all.

First I'm must admit that I'm a complete beginner with Linux.

I need to compile some short C program that uses Xlib.h and Xutil.h libraries. I can't locate them anywhere though. After an extensive search I've found out that those 2 are part of xorg-x11-devel package. So I found that package and tried installing it. But installation stopped right away saying that it's already installed. But I still can't find Xlib.h and Xutil.h anywhere.

Any ideas what am I missing?

Linux Newbie
    What error you are getting at the time of compile.
    And which compiler you are using. I don't know, but i got there is some defirents between gcc and g++. I use g++ .
    S. M. Ibrahim
    Registered Linux User # 394440

Pentium-IV 3.00 Ghz(Cache -2MB, 64 bit), 512 MB RAM , 128 MB agp, 160 GB Hdd (SATA)

Just Joined!
    I tried both gcc and g++ from Mandrake version 10.1.

I get following error message:
    Code:
    X11/Xlib.h: No such file or directory. 
    X11/Xutil.h: No such file or directory.
    Code in my application is:
    Code:
    #include <X11/Xlib.h>
    #include <X11/Xutil.h>
    All I have to do is find those 2 files and change path in code. But can't find them anywhere and can't install package with them cause it says that it's alredy installed.

I wonder how you are searching for those files? I would open a console, log in as root and try:

find / -name Xlib.h -print