Find the answer to your Linux question:
i'm new to linux and slowly converting over from windows hell. i've seen a few screen shots with some very nice looking interfaces, transparent menus are the one feature that ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

What's the best GUI?

i'm new to linux and slowly converting over from windows hell.

i've seen a few screen shots with some very nice looking interfaces, transparent menus are the one feature that stuck out. in my recent mandrake 2005 LE installation, i chose Gnome during the install. to be honest im not quite sure what Gnome is.

could somebody clarify what the difference is between KDE and gnome (i'm sorry if thats a FAQ). as a new linux user, should i be using one of them over the other?

oz
    forum.guy
    You really should try them both, then pick your favorite after playing with them some.

I personally like certain aspects of both, but use neither of them, anymore. Instead, I use XFCE4, or Fluxbox (window manager), but we don't want to throw too much at you right away.

Gnome and KDE truly are the big boys when it comes to desktop environments under Linux.

Good luck with your new adventure!

Linux Newbie
    For the newcomer i think, KDE will be easy. Yes, you must try both Gnome and KDE.
    Welcome to linux world.
    S. M. Ibrahim
    Registered Linux User # 394440

Pentium-IV 3.00 Ghz(Cache -2MB, 64 bit), 512 MB RAM , 128 MB agp, 160 GB Hdd (SATA)