Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
I have a problem viewing my files on the windows partitions on my second drive in the machine... In /mnt/ all the drives show up there, but I can only ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2

    Mandiva Mount Viewing Problems...


    I have a problem viewing my files on the windows partitions on my second drive in the machine... In /mnt/ all the drives show up there, but I can only see files on win_c, which is on the same hard-drive as mandriva.. But my other three partitions are on another hard-drive intalled on the same computer:

    /mnt/win_c2
    win_d
    win_e

    These I cannot see the files on... Any one got some ideas?

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    You might need to mount them before you can see the files on them. Go to Konqueror, then navigate to them and click on them. If this doesn't mount them, try right clicking them to see if a "mount" option exists.

    It's been a while since I've run Mandriva, so I'm trying to pull all this from memory. Hope it's all correct...

  3. #3
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    You could mount manually like Ozar said. From Konsole:
    Code:
    mount /dev/<partition device> /mnt/<folder you want to mount to like win_d>
    Check your /etc/fstab for the corresponding devices.

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2
    Ok... I think I did what you guys were requesting... No luck... Here's what my fstab file config looks like....

    # This file is edited by fstab-sync - see 'man fstab-sync' for details
    /dev/hda5 / ext3 defaults 1 1
    /dev/hdc /mnt/cdrom iso9660 user,iocharset=iso8859-1,noauto,ro,exec 0 0
    none /mnt/floppy supermount dev=/dev/fd0,fs=ext2:vfat,--,umask=0,iocharset=iso8859-1,sync,codepage=850 0 0
    /dev/hda1 /mnt/win_c vfat umask=0,iocharset=iso8859-1,codepage=850 0 0
    /dev/<partition device> /mnt/win_c2 ( It don't work with or without this line )
    none /proc proc defaults 0 0
    none /tmp tmpfs defaults 0 0
    /dev/hda6 swap swap defaults 0 0

    Here is a link to what my /mnt folder looks like...

  6. #5
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    It doesn't appear as if your second hard drive's partitions are registered in your fstab. Do you happen to know the device of your second hard drive (something like /dev/hdb perhaps)?

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •