Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I am trying to get a linksys wusb11v3.0 usb wireless adapter to work properly with my linux box. i am using mandriva and i believe the version is 10.2. Thus ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

trying to find drivers

I am trying to get a linksys wusb11v3.0 usb wireless adapter to work properly with my linux box. i am using mandriva and i believe the version is 10.2. Thus far my search has gone with a little bit of frustration. I am also a complete noob to linux so that does not help matters either. any assistance would be appreciated.

See this post, follow link for ndiswrapper.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Just Joined!
    thank you for your input. However i had already investigated their db of supported devices and my little adapter does not appear to be on there. i did however pick up the windows drivers and i am theoretically supposed to be able to use those with ndiswrapper, correct? I am slightly hesitant experimenting with this network adapter and my machine because last time i played with it thinking i had what i needed, I confused the router and the network had to be re- set up. any more advice would be wonderful.

in theory the drivers which came with your card should work with ndiswrapper, however since you have a usb based card, it sometimes can be a little difficult to get it working.

Before you start, get the kernel sources, wireless tools and ndiswrapper off the mandrake cd/dvd (goto MCC and add new software). Copy the windows drivers to your home directory. Now, execute the following commands as root in the terminal:

Code:
    lsusb        <------ check to see if system detects the usb card
    cd ~/drivers   <------- location of saved driver files
    ndiswrapper -i name_of_driver.inf
    ndiswrapper -l   <-------- check to see if installed
    ndiswrapper -m