Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi there, I just installed Linux today it's my first time using it, anyway so it all installed perfectly. But my mouse and keyboard keep freezing, it's as if I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Newbie in need of help.

Hi there, I just installed Linux today it's my first time using it, anyway so it all installed perfectly. But my mouse and keyboard keep freezing, it's as if I have pulled the wire out from the back, well I use a wireless keyboard and mouse but just an example. So I really don't know what to do about it, they work for about 5 minutes max then they stop, so i plug in my wire mouse and it all seems to work fine. But then when I try and reboot the machine it will get to the black screen and just freeze.

Now i don't know if this could be down too the hd it's on, cause it's only an old 28GB Maxtor, I'm using Mandrake 10.1 or 10.2. So if anyone has any ideas as to what this could be or any ideas of how to solve this, i would be grateful!

Linux Newbie
    I don't know what the problem is but it could be a few things.

My mouse did this a lot with rechargeable batterys. (NiCd memory effect and poor mouse)

check the signal strength. how close is the mouse/ keyboard to power cords ,monitor, speakers, transformers. Also check if the keyboard signal is intefering with the mouse signal.

as for the shutdown, this is probaly something else and has little to do with your hd search for [the correct spelling of] acpia (try power manangement or something)

Just Joined!
    Hi there, it's my first experience with linux..
    Yesterday I installed mandriva 2006 powerpack (?) and now have some problems: