Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 27 of 27
I doubt you have a 64bit processor so you need to go with the i386, after looking closer at the link x86 is the i386....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Linux Engineer LondoJowo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, TX
    Posts
    804

    I doubt you have a 64bit processor so you need to go with the i386, after looking closer at the link x86 is the i386.
    Dell Precision T7400 Workstation
    Dual 3.33Ghz Xeon "Harpertown" Core
    16GB PC5300 DDR2 ECC CL5
    BFG GeForce GTX 285 OC 2GB
    X-Fi Platinum
    HP w2408 24" Monitor
    Dual Boot:openSUSE 11.2/Win 7 Ultimate

  2. #22
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    23
    Well I have an AMD Athlon 64...

    CPU Info: (1 CPU - AMD Athlon 64 Processor 3500+, 2.19 GHz, L1: 64KB L2: 512KB )

    But, I heard that 64 bits version were not very stable, is it true? Will it works if I take the i386 ?

  3. #23
    Linux Engineer LondoJowo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, TX
    Posts
    804
    Yes, the i386 should work fine on a 64bit processor.
    Dell Precision T7400 Workstation
    Dual 3.33Ghz Xeon "Harpertown" Core
    16GB PC5300 DDR2 ECC CL5
    BFG GeForce GTX 285 OC 2GB
    X-Fi Platinum
    HP w2408 24" Monitor
    Dual Boot:openSUSE 11.2/Win 7 Ultimate

  4. #24
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    23
    Ok, thanks LondoJowo. I'll take the i386 as soon as my monthly bandwidth reset

    Thanks for al those fast answer

  5. #25
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    3
    Check out the top 10 at distrowatch.com. You don't need to download a full DVD. Most distros come on one cd. PClinuxOS is a very good newbie OS. It is based on mandriva, but comes on only one cd, so you should be able to install it. If you just want to try out linux you can get a live cd like knoppix or slax(just 180MB, can be booted from a USB-stick).
    E

  6. #26
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Miami. FL
    Posts
    92
    Hi. you can install any Linux within Windoze using VMWARE,
    download it, and within the tryal period, try any linux distribution you want. Then you can choose.

    pd. by the way... you wrote that you have a DVD distro and you use a CD-ROM reader ?

  7. #27
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    23
    It's a dvdrom which also reads cd.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •