Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
Hello! I've been thinking of trying Linux for a few times now, but I didn't want to try it on the family comp and **** everything, but now I got ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    23

    I don't get it...


    Hello!

    I've been thinking of trying Linux for a few times now, but I didn't want to try it on the family comp and **** everything, but now I got my own computer and I am ready to try it. I downloaded Mandrake 10.1 install dvd and burned the ISO on a DVD after checking checking the md5 (it was the same as on the site). Ok now, what do I do? How do I install it without losing my Windows XP (home)? Is there a way to install it so when you boot it asks you if you want to go on Linux ou Windows ?

    Any link or something would be nice :0

    Thanks, greem.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    Boot from the cd, and it will offer you to resize your Windows partition(s) during install. If you don't want to do that, install a partitioning program in Windows and use that to resize your partition(s) from within Windows itself.
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    23
    Ok I just did that and it doesn't detect anything (cdrom, hard disk,...) :/

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    12
    Your BIOS set to boot up from CD?

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    23
    Yeh, I'm on a labtop so I only have a cdrom.

  7. #6
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    is there any error message?
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  8. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Luton, England, UK, Earth
    Posts
    639
    Did you check the iso's md5sum to make sure it downloaded OK?

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    23
    It doesn't give any error message cause it doesn't start to install since it doesn't detect my cdrom.

    And yes it was the same md5 than on the website.

  10. #9
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Luton, England, UK, Earth
    Posts
    639
    Well... if it doesn't detect your cdrom then the problem may lie there, can you set your cd to boot in the bios, if not then you may be able to do a net install i think, there is always a way around it in linux

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by onlinebacon
    Well... if it doesn't detect your cdrom then the problem may lie there, can you set your cd to boot in the bios, if not then you may be able to do a net install i think, there is always a way around it in linux
    What it does:

    I put my linux cd in. I reboot then I get a screen: F1 for more option and enter to installs. So when my comp boots it does detect the cd, but once I'm in Mandrake install it doesn't. It says scanning for USB device then after: no cdrom device.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •