Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm kinda new to linux, I usually only use SSH or w/e, But I installed Mini mandrake 10.1, Same over all as any mandrake system I guess, I have it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Mandrake 10.1 eth0 Usage help.

I'm kinda new to linux, I usually only use SSH or w/e, But I installed Mini mandrake 10.1, Same over all as any mandrake system I guess, I have it connected through ethernet to my hub, then from my hub it goes to my cable modem, I have two ip's on my hub 1 to my router the other to the mandrake box, I need to know how to get my mandrake box to get a internet connection from it, I've tried many ifconfig commands, Help me out.

Can you ping the router? If so, you probably just need to add it as a gateway with
    Code:
    route add default gw <ip_address_of_your_router>
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

- Jeremy S. Anderson

Just Joined!

Uh

It ain't behind the router man, Its just like a direct connection but its using the hub as a modem, and the hub is the gateway and a hub has no ip, The router is for my windows box's.
    I have the mandrake set on its own with its own ip, I just need to get my ifconfig eth0 whatever to pick it up, But I didn't know that command thanks, Though Its not needed.
    -ps My router ignores pings.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Since most ISPs don't give you more than one connection, you should probably have the Mandrake box behind the router (a good idea anyway as the router works as a firewall). With most broadband ISPs you can't have more than one working connection at a time, so if your Mandrake box pulls an ip address your router won't have one and hence your Windows boxes will lose internet.
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.