Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    9

    Boot Problem - Error: read only filesystem


    Something unfortunate happened to me as a guest unavare of what he was doing shutted down my server from the powerbutton (he tought he was starting it up).

    Well, now when i start the server all processes end up with [ FAILED ], and as error message i get a complaining that the filesystem is read only. So it cant delete or create any runfiles...

    I manage to login if i choose the failsafe option from the bootloader, and thus am able to do some limited things.

    I ran the e2fsck with -pf on all partitions but that didnt help.

    Does anyone have a clue what i could do except reinstalling the system.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    9
    More details to help you diagnose my problem.

    Running fdisk results:
    Code:
    [root@(none) /]# fdisk -l
    cannot open /proc/partitions

  3. #3
    Linux Guru anomie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,692
    So e2fsck found no problem? And you ran it on the / filesystem?

    What happens if you try to mount /?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    If you want to skip the long bootup process, a quick way into a failsafe is to add:
    Code:
    init=/bin/bash
    To your boot options, which will yield a root console. From there:
    Code:
    mount -no remount,rw /

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by anomie
    So e2fsck found no problem? And you ran it on the / filesystem?
    I ran,
    Code:
    e2fsck -pf /dev/hda1
    e2fsck -pf /dev/hda6
    (thats all of my partitions)
    Quote Originally Posted by anomie
    What happens if you try to mount /?
    It says:
    Code:
    mount: /dev/hda1 already mounted or / busy
    mount: according to mtab, /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1 is alredy mounted on /
    Quote Originally Posted by lakerdonald
    If you want to skip the long bootup process, a quick way into a failsafe is to add:
    Code:
    init=/bin/bash
    To your boot options, which will yield a root console. From there:
    Code:
    mount -no remount,rw /
    Thanks for the advice, i will try this even though i didnt really understand what it will do (i guess ill find out)...

  7. #6
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    You'll need to:
    Code:
    umount /dev/...
    before running fsck.

    edit:
    heh just thought about that and realized that you're not on a livecd so that wouldn't work
    heh

  8. #7
    Linux Guru anomie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,692
    You need to get to single-user mode before running the filesystem check on /.

    Try
    Code:
    init 1
    as root (after booting).

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    9
    Ok so i do after boot
    Code:
    init 1
    umount /
    should i then do
    Code:
    e2fsck -pf /dev/hda1
    (or)
    e2fsck -pf /

  10. #9
    Linux Guru anomie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,692
    Well, assuming /dev/hda1 is where you mount /, then run it on the device itself - /dev/hda1. (At times when the file system check program can get to /etc/fstab you can use either one.)

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    9
    Ok i did that now and i get a clean report from all partitions now as well.

    But the error persists, upon boot (and shutdown, which i did forget to mention earlier) anything the loader does is responded by either;

    a) IOError [Errno 30] Read only filesystem
    b) [Errno 30] Read only filesystem
    c) Read only filesystem

    accompanied with the name of some file or pid that it tried to operate on.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •