Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, Its been three days that I have intalled Mandrake 10.1. So, I am a newbie to linux and learning it. I have a problem relating root privilages. I want ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Assign root privilages to a normal user accout

Hi,

Its been three days that I have intalled Mandrake 10.1. So, I am a newbie to linux and learning it.

I have a problem relating root privilages. I want root privilage to my account.

I have read lot that you should "never" login to root. You can damage it etc.

But as I am learning linux and I don't realy bother to install to 100 times (if i damage it)

So, can anyone please tell me how to give root privilages to a user on Mandrake 10.1

I am tired to typng the root password again and again, more that 20 times withing a hour. So please help me.

I have tried going "Configure you Computer" > "System" > "User and Groups

and changed the permission from there as "root" (i mean changing the group to "root") but it doesnot work.

Also, I am able to assign any group from my account (doesn't it require any root permisions), but that is another story that it did show changed group but it does not work.

So, anyone know how to do it.

Banned

Re: Assign root privilages to a normal user accout

Since you 're saying your trying to learn something, what you're trying to do is more than just a bad idea, It's insecure, unsafe, and doesn't make sense.

If you want full root privileges, simply login as root and destroy your system like that without ever having to use a password.

PS: Why being so cruel towards your system?

Just Joined!
    Well, thanks for the reply,

I don't want to login as root because I have "decorated" my destop a lot, customized my menu etc.

Thats why I thought that it will nice if I can root privaleg on my existing account.