Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
after i update my distro online and i reboot i get a black screen with login and then password i lose my GUI my Kde will not load what is ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    7

    losing gui


    after i update my distro online and i reboot i get a black screen with login and then password i lose my GUI my Kde will not load what is the deal is there a way to stop that

  2. #2
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    you can get back gui by typing startx

    now, to change it so that it boots gui every time, do this:
    as root, open the /etc/inittab file and look for this line:
    Code:
    # The default runlevel is defined here
    id:3:initdefault:
    change the 3 in above line to 5 so, it looks like:
    Code:
    # The default runlevel is defined here
    id:5:initdefault:
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    7
    that is what it is set on it only does that when i do the update

  4. #4
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    what update are you trying to download?
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    7
    the mandriva linux updates

  6. #6
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    yes, but usually they have package names, e.g. kernel-2.6.13 update or something along those lines. What I suggest you do is download only one update at a time and try figure out which one is causing the problem.

    Also, is the specific update you are doing absolutely necessary?
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    7
    yea that is what i am working on now

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    83
    Or you could use a .xinitrc

    Code:
    cd
    Code:
    pico .xinitrc
    If using pico outputs "Command not found", use nano
    Code:
    Type "startkde" in there
    Then when you boot and get to a prompt, just login and type:

    Code:
    startx
    Hope this helps.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    7
    startx works thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •