Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Hey guys, my processor usage is 100% allways, independent of how many proccesses I'm running. I't happened a few days ago, before my Mandrake 10.1 Official worked perfekt ! Can ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! david_b.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    62

    100% Processor usage allways !


    Hey guys, my processor usage is 100% allways, independent of how many proccesses I'm running. I't happened a few days ago, before my Mandrake 10.1 Official worked perfekt !
    Can anyone give me a tip about how so solve this problem ?
    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Can I ask what you are using to find out your cpu percentage? Some versions of Mandriva had a bug which basically took over most of your system resources. This was because of one little programme

    If you hit Ctrl + Esc. in KDE this will bring up a list of processes. Scroll down and see if any are taking up too much CPU %
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  3. #3
    Just Joined! david_b.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    62
    To view the percentage I use the *System Monitor*. But I want to say, that about yesterday I tried to update my kernel but didn't really finish, might that be the thing to cause the problem ?

  4. #4
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Open a terminal, konsole is good, and go:
    Code:
    top
    And press enter. Post here what comes up. You won't be able to post all of it, but post a least what is on your screen. To exit, 'top' press 'q.'
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  5. #5
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Hmmm ... It does sound possible that if you were updating your kernel and left it unfinished, something might be broken.

    I would look at see if any individual processes are taking up a lot of resources. I never fully understood CPU readings in Linux. For example, if you open a console and type 'top' you get a terminal system monitor. It can appear that a lot of resources are being used when this is not the case ...

    I don't personally touch my kernel, so maybe I'm not the best person to help you here.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  6. #6
    Just Joined! david_b.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    62
    PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
    32311 root 25 0 2516 984 2272 R 87.9 0.3 155:23.31 lisa
    3439 root 15 0 119m 23m 96m S 5.3 6.3 84:24.09 X
    4583 david 15 0 10916 4444 9.9m S 2.3 1.2 15:52.23 artsd
    3912 david 15 0 29692 11m 16m S 0.3 3.0 0:15.40 gnome-terminal
    8856 david 15 0 62276 15m 22m S 0.3 4.2 0:15.28 xmms
    9237 david 15 0 9476 4824 8992 S 0.3 1.2 0:17.83 xmms-arts-helpe
    9730 david 15 0 97.9m 32m 37m S 0.3 8.5 0:39.46 mozilla-bin
    9877 david 15 0 16804 8420 15m S 0.3 2.2 0:03.16 clock-applet
    9879 david 16 0 14888 6884 13m S 0.3 1.8 0:00.34 notification-ar
    10531 david 16 0 2004 1024 1788 R 0.3 0.3 0:00.11 top
    1 root 16 0 1408 456 1256 S 0.0 0.1 0:01.63 init
    2 root 34 19 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 ksoftirqd/0
    3 root 5 -10 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.49 events/0
    4 root 6 -10 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 khelper
    5 root 5 -10 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.78 kblockd/0
    33 root 15 0 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.11 kapmd
    35 root 15 0 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:01.37 pdflush
    36 root 15 0 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.71 pdflush
    38 root 14 -10 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 aio/0
    37 root 15 0 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:06.99 kswapd0
    144 root 16 0 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.03 kseriod
    268 root 15 0 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:08.82 kjournald
    431 root 6 -10 1388 288 1236 S 0.0 0.1 0:00.04 udevd
    822 root 15 0 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.05 khubd
    960 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 scsi_eh_0
    961 root 15 0 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 usb-storage
    1183 root 15 0 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:03.09 kjournald
    2847 root 16 0 1416 432 1256 S 0.0 0.1 0:03.63 ifplugd
    2918 root 16 0 1940 500 1604 S 0.0 0.1 0:00.00 dhclient
    2975 rpc 17 0 1536 520 1368 S 0.0 0.1 0:00.01 portmap
    2999 root 16 0 1460 564 1292 S 0.0 0.1 0:01.35 syslogd
    3007 root 16 0 2104 492 1248 S 0.0 0.1 0:00.79 klogd
    3066 root 21 0 1536 580 1368 S 0.0 0.2 0:00.00 rpc.statd
    3204 xfs 16 0 5504 1724 2592 S 0.0 0.4 0:00.24 xfs
    3229 messageb 17 0 2052 704 1888 S 0.0 0.2 0:00.00 dbus-daemon-1
    3254 root 18 0 1616 440 1464 S 0.0 0.1 0:00.00 hcid
    3265 root 21 0 1452 404 1300 S 0.0 0.1 0:00.00 sdpd
    3277 root 10 -10 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 krfcommd
    3397 daemon 17 0 1524 504 1368 S 0.0 0.1 0:00.00 atd
    3413 root 16 0 2436 520 2252 S 0.0 0.1 0:00.00 mdkkdm
    3449 root 16 0 1988 716 1656 S 0.0 0.2 0:00.00 xinetd
    3495 root 16 0 3356 1408 2892 S 0.0 0.4 0:00.04 mdkkdm
    3669 root 16 0 2760 964 2576 S 0.0 0.2 0:00.39 master
    3682 postfix 16 0 2908 1056 2724 S 0.0 0.3 0:00.03 qmgr
    3683 postfix 16 0 4132 1336 3928 S 0.0 0.3 0:00.26 tlsmgr
    3693 root 18 0 11376 780 2824 S 0.0 0.2 0:00.00 prelude-manager
    3906 root 16 0 1448 576 1288 S 0.0 0.1 0:00.01 crond
    3945 root 16 0 2516 944 2272 S 0.0 0.2 0:00.06 lisa
    4021 root 18 0 1396 356 1240 S 0.0 0.1 0:00.00 mingetty

  7. #7
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    'lisa' is eating you box alive! Open top again, this time as root and press the 'k' key then enter 32311. Press enter. It will ask if you want to kill it. Press y and enter, then exit by pressing q again. As I understand it, Lisa is a program to make cruising your LAN look more like crusing a Windows LAN. Do you need this?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  8. #8
    Just Joined! david_b.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    62
    Howly crap, it works . Thank you very much, will I have to do it every time I reboot ?

  9. #9
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    You could disable the Lisa service in the Control Centre if you're sure you won't be using it. Just click off the 'On boot' option.

  10. #10
    Just Joined! david_b.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    62
    Thanks a lot guys !

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •