Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 33
Try this command Code: cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep EE and post the results. Jeremy...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907

    Try this command

    Code:
    cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep EE
    and post the results.

    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  2. #12
    Just Joined! david_b.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    62
    That's, what it says:
    [root@localhost david]# cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep EE
    (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
    (II) Loading extension MIT-SCREEN-SAVER
    (EE) Failed to initialize GLX extension (NVIDIA X driver not found)

  3. #13
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by david_b.
    I have Chaintech Nvidia GeForce MX 400/200, 64 MB !
    Whoops. Missed your signature.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  4. #14
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    mmmm. And you're sure your install went off without a hitch?

    Can you post your x config file?

    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  5. #15
    Just Joined! david_b.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    62
    Sorry for the offtop guys, but why are you all using AMD processors ? It's just here in Estonia it is totally not cool to have a AMD processor. It's like some kind of propoganda around here. They all say, that AMD's are not processors. There like LiveCD's in compare with da real linux 8- ).

  6. #16
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    Just a matter of preference, I guess. I associate Intel with Windows, for some reason, and thus tend to shy away from them.

    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  7. #17
    Just Joined! david_b.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    62
    Jeremy:
    You meen my NVIDIA install ? If yes - then it didn't get without some errors in the beggining. But when were errors - the install didn't finnish. And when I changed *nv* to *nvidia* and all - the install process went fine, without any problems (except it didn't find the appropriate kernel, so it compiled one itself). And my X config file is:
    # File generated by XFdrake.

    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Refer to the XF86Config man page for details about the format of
    # this file.
    # ************************************************** ********************

    Section "Files"
    # Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
    # By default, Mandrake 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
    # the X server to render fonts.
    FontPath "unix/:-1"
    EndSection

    Section "ServerFlags"
    #DontZap # disable <Crtl><Alt><BS> (server abort)
    AllowMouseOpenFail # allows the server to start up even if the mouse doesn't work
    #DontZoom # disable <Crtl><Alt><KP_+>/<KP_-> (resolution switching)
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "dbe" # Double-Buffering Extension
    Load "v4l" # Video for Linux
    Load "extmod"
    Load "type1"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "glx" # 3D layer
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Keyboard1"
    Driver "keyboard"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
    Option "XkbLayout" "en_US"
    Option "XkbOptions" ""
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Mouse1"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
    Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "6 7"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "monitor1"
    VendorName "Generic"
    ModelName "1280x1024 @ 60 Hz"
    HorizSync 31.5-64.3
    VertRefresh 50-70

    # Sony Vaio C1(X,XS,VE,VN)?
    # 1024x480 @ 85.6 Hz, 48 kHz hsync
    ModeLine "1024x480" 65.00 1024 1032 1176 1344 480 488 494 563 -hsync -vsync

    # Dell D800 and few Inspiron (16/10) 1280x800
    ModeLine "1280x800" 147.89 1280 1376 1512 1744 800 801 804 848

    # Dell D800 and few Inspiron (16/10) 1680x1050
    ModeLine "1680x1050" 214.51 1680 1800 1984 2288 1050 1051 1054 1103

    # Dell D800 and few Inspiron (16/10) 1920x1200
    ModeLine "1920x1200" 230 1920 1936 2096 2528 1200 1201 1204 1250 +HSync +VSync

    # TV fullscreen mode or DVD fullscreen output.
    # 768x576 @ 79 Hz, 50 kHz hsync
    ModeLine "768x576" 50.00 768 832 846 1000 576 590 595 630

    # 768x576 @ 100 Hz, 61.6 kHz hsync
    ModeLine "768x576" 63.07 768 800 960 1024 576 578 590 616
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "device1"
    VendorName "nVidia Corp."
    BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce2 DDR (generic)"
    Driver "nv"
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "screen1"
    Device "device1"
    Monitor "monitor1"
    DefaultColorDepth 24

    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 8
    Virtual 1280 1024
    EndSubsection

    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 15
    Virtual 1280 1024
    EndSubsection

    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Virtual 1280 1024
    EndSubsection

    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Virtual 1280 1024
    EndSubsection
    EndSection

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "layout1"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    Screen "screen1"
    EndSection

  8. #18
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    You need to change nv to nvidea manually. Open the file with something like VIM, edit and change. Be ware that MCC will overwrite your change if you use it. Once you do that, restart X.

    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  9. #19
    Just Joined! david_b.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    62
    I don't know what is VIM, I changed it with *Kate* is that o.k. ? And once I restart X - MCC woun't change it back when I start it ?

  10. #20
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    Kate is fine, MCC will change it if you use MCC to change any of the other values in the future, not by simply restarting x.

    By the way, how did you restart x?

    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •