Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Greetings, all! I'm new here, and seeking help with my wireless card (Intel Wireless 2915 adapter) on my notebook. As you can tell, I am a newb, so please go ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    15

    Intel 2915 ipw2200 problem


    Greetings, all! I'm new here, and seeking help with my wireless card (Intel Wireless 2915 adapter) on my notebook. As you can tell, I am a newb, so please go slow. Well, let me jump into it. I installed Mandriva LE 2005, downloaded and untared the firmware for the card and put it into /lib/hotplug/firmware/ Then, I ran
    Code:
    modprobe ipw2200
    and it returned the next line. After that, I ran
    Code:
    iwconfig
    and it came up with the following:
    Code:
    [root@dhezir dhezir]# iwconfig
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    eth1      no wireless extensions.
    eth2      IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:"CaseGuest"  Nickname:"dhezir"
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.462 GHz  Access Point: 00:0F:34:64:EA:E0
              Bit Rate=54 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm
              RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Encryption key:off
              Power Management:off
              Link Quality=71/100  Signal level=-58 dBm  Noise level=-85 dBm
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:19   Missed beacon:1
    sit0      no wireless extensions.
    So, it saw my access point. I ran
    Code:
    ifconfig eth2 up
    which just jumped to the next line. However, I still can't connect to the Internet! I have pinged and pinged Google, but still no luck! Is there something I forgot? Please help. Thank you!

  2. #2
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    whats the output from pinging google and your access point?
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    15
    When I ping Google, I get
    Code:
    [root@dhezir dhezir]# ping google.com
    ping: unknown host google.com
    For my AP, here's what I get:
    Code:
    [root@dhezir dhezir]# ping 172.16.24.2
    PING 172.16.24.2 (172.16.24.2) 56(84) bytes of data.
    From 172.16.24.150 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 172.16.24.150 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 172.16.24.150 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 172.16.24.150 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 172.16.24.150 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 172.16.24.150 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
    ping: sendmsg: Operation not permitted
    From 172.16.24.150 icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable
    ping: sendmsg: Operation not permitted
    From 172.16.24.150 icmp_seq=3 Destination Host Unreachable
    ping: sendmsg: Operation not permitted
    From 172.16.24.150 icmp_seq=4 Destination Host Unreachable
    ping: sendmsg: Operation not permitted
    From 172.16.24.150 icmp_seq=5 Destination Host Unreachable
    ping: sendmsg: Operation not permitted
    From 172.16.24.150 icmp_seq=6 Destination Host Unreachable
    ping: sendmsg: Operation not permitted
    From 172.16.24.150 icmp_seq=7 Destination Host Unreachable
    ping: sendmsg: Operation not permitted
    From 172.16.24.150 icmp_seq=8 Destination Host Unreachable
    ping: sendmsg: Operation not permitted
    From 172.16.24.150 icmp_seq=9 Destination Host Unreachable
    ping: sendmsg: Operation not permitted
    From 172.16.24.150 icmp_seq=10 Destination Host Unreachable
    ping: sendmsg: Operation not permitted
    From 172.16.24.150 icmp_seq=11 Destination Host Unreachable
    ping: sendmsg: Operation not permitted
    
    --- 172.16.24.2 ping statistics ---
    11 packets transmitted, 0 received, +16 errors, 100% packet loss, time 10158ms
    The AP is quite interesting. Unfortunately, I can't change anything on there because it belongs to my school. Thanks for any help, AlexK or anyone else!

  4. #4
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    2 things you can do:
    1. In the MCC, tell it that the gateway to internet is the AP
    2. Also tell it in MCC that the DNS server to search is the ip address of the AP.

    Also make sure that the card is connected and has an ip address.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    15
    Well, the card has an IP address, but if I change the gateway to the AP, nothing happens. The same with changing the DNS settings. Under MandrakeLinux Control Center, I have noticed that it says that I am not connected via wifi, yet I can see everything in the terminal via "ifconfig". What's going on? Thanks again.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    that really is strange. does the network have any encryption or anything like that? The results from pinging the AP show that it doesn't seem to be able to connect properly.

    Also, temproarily delete or disable whatever wired connection you may have configured using MCC.

    Ignoring the MCC for now, we'll try and deal with some commands to get the laptop connected.

    for adding a route to the internet, do the following as root:
    Code:
    route add -net AP_ip_address netmask AP_netmask dev eth2
    also edit the /etc/resolv.conf file with:
    Code:
    kate /etc/resolv.conf
    replace kate with your favourite editor e.g. vi, emacs, gedit etc..

    add the following line to it:
    Code:
    nameserver your_ap_ip_address
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    15
    Thanks AlexK, and to all who looked, but I fixed the problem. I'm actually using it now! Here's how to fix it, if you are running into problems with it:

    Untar ipw2200-fw-2.2.tgz and place all of the files in /lib/hotplug/firmware/
    Run
    Code:
    modprobe ipw2200
    Restart (at least I had to, you might not)
    Under MCC, head to Hardware, click on the 2915 adapter, and set it up as a wireless connection.

    Good as gold! I think my problem was that I had both my ethernet and my wireless card starting at boot. PM me with any issues! Cheers!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •