Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 39
Well, I installed Mandriva 2006 x86_64 on my PC, that's ok! But now when I try to install new software and follow the order for doing this in the console... ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! Nazty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Middle of Nowhere
    Posts
    44

    Compiler problem


    Well, I installed Mandriva 2006 x86_64 on my PC, that's ok! But now
    when I try to install new software and follow the order for doing this
    in the console...
    su
    ./configure
    make
    make install
    ...the compiler won't work!

  2. #2
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539

    Re: Compiler problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Nazty
    Well, I installed Mandriva 2006 x86_64 on my PC, that's ok! But now
    when I try to install new software and follow the order for doing this
    in the console...
    su
    ./configure
    make
    make install
    ...the compiler won't work!
    You say the compiler won't work. Exactly what happens when you try the above? Is there any output at all? (If so please post it). Does your machine hang? Can you get as far as a root prompt like, eg:

    fingals_box#
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  3. #3
    Just Joined! Nazty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Middle of Nowhere
    Posts
    44
    Yeah...there is output but I am not at home presently....
    I' ll post it tonight!
    I suppose that some component of the compiler is missing!
    I had the same problem with Mandriva 2005 LE, I simply couldn't make it work!


    Do you know some source of rpm packages for this distribution?


    Edit: Ok! Thanks! I'll try tonight!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Quote Originally Posted by Nazty
    Yeah...there is output but I am not at home presently....
    I' ll post it tonight!
    I suppose that some component of the compiler is missing!
    I had the same problem with Mandriva 2005 LE, I simply couldn't make it work!


    Do you know some source of rpm packages fo this distribution?
    One thing to try for finding rpm mirror sites is to use the easy urpmi website. Just work your way through the first 3 tick boxes labeled 1) Core distribution and read the output. I always double check the path through to the mirror site by entering the URL into a browser and taking a look at where I end up!

    Or Google for Mandriva mirrors.

    EDIT: Also, take a look on your installation disk. You could probably install it from there.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  6. #5
    Just Joined! Nazty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Middle of Nowhere
    Posts
    44
    ok ! Here is what I get as an answer in the console when I try to configure the program I am
    trying to install....nothing else but a simple dictionary...


    [root@atilla kbedic-4.0]# ./configure
    loading cache ./config.cache
    checking host system type... x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
    checking target system type... x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
    checking build system type... x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
    checking for a BSD compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
    checking whether build environment is sane... yes
    checking for gawk... gawk
    checking whether make sets ${MAKE}... yes
    checking for gcc... gcc
    checking whether the C compiler (gcc ) works... yes
    checking whether the C compiler (gcc ) is a cross-compiler... no
    checking whether we are using GNU C... yes
    checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
    checking for style of include used by make... GNU
    checking dependency style of gcc... gcc3
    checking how to run the C preprocessor... gcc -E
    checking for c++... c++
    checking whether the C++ compiler (c++ ) works... yes
    checking whether the C++ compiler (c++ ) is a cross-compiler... no
    checking whether we are using GNU C++... yes
    checking whether c++ accepts -g... yes
    checking dependency style of c++... gcc3
    checking whether make sets ${MAKE}... (cached) yes
    checking for a BSD compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
    checking for ANSI C header files... yes
    checking for X... libraries /usr/X11R6/lib64, headers /usr/X11R6/include
    checking for dnet_ntoa in -ldnet... no
    checking for dnet_ntoa in -ldnet_stub... no
    checking for gethostbyname... yes
    checking for connect... yes
    checking for remove... yes
    checking for shmat... yes
    checking for IceConnectionNumber in -lICE... yes
    checking for QT libraries... no
    configure: error: You need to have the QT 3.0 or higher libraries installed

    I think everything is on my hard disk I but simply the path to these libraries is unknown
    or something like this.....I have the most recent distro, it's not posible that something is missing, is it?

  7. #6
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    checking for QT libraries... no
    configure: error: You need to have the QT 3.0 or higher libraries installed
    using urpmi or MCC's add remove software tool, install QT and any of its libraries. By default mandriva chooses not to install these and some other libraries during the installation phase, but if you need them you will have to add them.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  8. #7
    Just Joined! Nazty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Middle of Nowhere
    Posts
    44
    The weird thing is that when I type...
    urpmi qt
    ...or simply search for "QT" or "QTlib" there is no results which should
    mean that everythng is present on my machine?! I have also searched
    the rpm repositories of easyurpmi but there's no results of missing QT
    components from there?! I don't know what's wrong... What other
    keywords should I type?



    EDIT: I know about the QT website...
    Do I have to buy QT or something? Is that why it's missing? I thought
    that it is free for Linux, isn't it?

  9. #8
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    try using MCC's add reomve software tool.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  10. #9
    Just Joined! Nazty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Middle of Nowhere
    Posts
    44
    I have tried but there is no result...
    Any other ideas?!

  11. #10
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    you could try searching on rpm sites such as pbone and here is a link for an rpm of qt3-common for mandrake 10.x series from pbone
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •