Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 52
hi all bar the tutorial at http://www.linuxforums.org/tutorials...ial-30960.html is there and other ones about ?? i'v tryed that one and my linux box hangs when going in to X or any ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    30

    nvidia drivers


    hi all
    bar the tutorial at http://www.linuxforums.org/tutorials...ial-30960.html is there and other ones about ??
    i'v tryed that one and my linux box hangs when going in to X
    or any other way i can get games like quake 4 to run in mandriva ??
    my system is
    geforce fx5600
    sempron 2600+ cpu
    512 ram
    winfast 760gxk8mc mainbord

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    I'm not sure what you're asking, but there's another more general tutorial here:

    http://www.linuxforums.org/tutorials...ial-44103.html
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    30
    thanks for that, bit some how when i edit the /etx/11/xf86.conf file (from nv to nvidia) when i start up x i get a blank screen and the box locks up

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by Elspuddy
    thanks for that, bit some how when i edit the /etx/11/xf86.conf file (from nv to nvidia) when i start up x i get a blank screen and the box locks up
    Did you follow all my steps? Including the "modprobe nvidia" line?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    30
    yep, i did all as the tutorial sayed to do

  7. #6
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Post the contents of your "/etc/X11/XF86Config" file.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    30
    Code:
    # File generated by XFdrake.
    
    # **********************************************************************
    # Refer to the XF86Config man page for details about the format of
    # this file.
    # **********************************************************************
    
    Section "Files"
        # Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
        # By default, Mandrake 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
        # the X server to render fonts.
        FontPath "unix/:-1"
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerFlags"
        #DontZap # disable <Crtl><Alt><BS> &#40;server abort&#41;
        #DontZoom # disable <Crtl><Alt><KP_+>/<KP_-> &#40;resolution switching&#41;
        AllowMouseOpenFail # allows the server to start up even if the mouse does no
    t work
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
        Load "dbe" # Double-Buffering Extension
        Load "v4l" # Video for Linux
        Load "extmod"
        Load "type1"
        Load "freetype"
        Load "glx" # 3D layer
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier "Keyboard1"
        Driver "keyboard"
        Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
        Option "XkbLayout" "gb"
        Option "XkbOptions" "compose&#58;rwin"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier "Mouse1"
        Driver "mouse"
        Option "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
        Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
        Option "ZAxisMapping" "6 7"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier "monitor1"
        VendorName "Generic"
        ModelName "1024x768 @ 70 Hz"
        HorizSync 31.5-57.0
        VertRefresh 50-70
    
        # TV fullscreen mode or DVD fullscreen output.
        # 768x576 @ 79 Hz, 50 kHz hsync
        ModeLine "768x576"     50.00  768  832  846 1000   576  590  595  630
    
        # 768x576 @ 100 Hz, 61.6 kHz hsync
        ModeLine "768x576"     63.07  768  800  960 1024   576  578  590  616
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier "device1"
        VendorName "nVidia"
        BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce FX &#40;generic&#41;"
        Driver "nv"     &#58; i did change this to nvidia but had to change it back to get my box workign again
        Option "DPMS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier "screen1"
        Device "device1"
        Monitor "monitor1"
        DefaultColorDepth 24
    
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth 8
            Virtual 1024 768
        EndSubsection
    
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth 15
            Virtual 1024 768
        EndSubsection
    
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth 16
            Virtual 1024 768
        EndSubsection
    
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth 24
            Virtual 1024 768
        EndSubsection
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier "layout1"
        InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
        Screen "screen1"
    EndSection

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    30
    still need help on this one

  10. #9
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    I don't see anything obviously off with your config file, which makes me think it was a problem with how you installed your drivers. Can you give me a quick summary of the steps you took to get the drivers installed, and what the exact errors were that showed up afterward?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    30
    urpmi kernel-source , chouse option 2 when picking
    typed init3 and changed to where i downloaded the nvidia drivers
    sh nvidia******.run
    modprobe nvidia
    vim /ect/X11/xf86.conf and changed the "nv" line to "nivdia"

    no errors pop up when booting, just when it hits the x loging screen the screen goes blank and the box locks up

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •