Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
I have a dual boot of WIndows and Mandriva. In the boot menu, there are two instances of Windows listed (Windows and WIndows1). Windows1 is a repeat and I want ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    9

    Edit the GRUB menu


    I have a dual boot of WIndows and Mandriva. In the boot menu, there are two instances of Windows listed (Windows and WIndows1). Windows1 is a repeat and I want to remove it from the menu. I see there is no menu.ls in the boot/grub directory.

    Where do I edit this menu?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Su into root, then bring up nano, a text editor with the filename.
    Code:
    su >root password
    nano /boot/grub/grub.conf
    Then you can just delete the offending line.
    After you delete the line, hit CTRL + x and say "y" to save your work.
    Hope this helps.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  3. #3
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Doesn't Mandriva use Lilo? If so, edit /etc/lilo.conf. Don't forget to run Lilo afterwards. As root, type:
    Code:
    /sbin/lilo
    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  4. #4
    Linux User Stefann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    340
    Quote Originally Posted by bryansmith
    Doesn't Mandriva use Lilo? If so, edit /etc/lilo.conf. Don't forget to run Lilo afterwards. As root, type:
    Code:
    /sbin/lilo
    Bryan
    Up untill LE 2005 it did, GRUB became default after that IIRC.
    Nothing is worse than ten penguins fighting over which is better, vi or emacs.
    Registered Linux User #404402
    Finally I'm back on LF after a long while.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •