Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm new to Linux & am just getting started with Mandriva 10.2. I've downloaded 7 programs of which 2 are .exe. I guess that these are for Windows & that ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installing D/l'ed Progs On Mandriva Linux

I'm new to Linux & am just getting started with Mandriva 10.2.

I've downloaded 7 programs of which 2 are .exe. I guess that these are for Windows & that I'll need to delete them?

1 of the others is a Zip Archive & the other 4 are Gzip files which I guess are useable. I can click on them and open them but haven't a clue how to instal them. Any ideas? Many Thanks.

You need to have the components of the GCC (Gnu C Compiler) and QT installed on your
    Mandriva Linux... Your problem is similar to mine! Look "Compiler problem'' for details!
    You can also take a look at this Howto ...

One more useful link...

Just Joined!
    Many Thanks for that ...... I'll get back here when I've given it a try ....

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    In future, I would suggest you try and download rpm files of programs, then it is very simple to install them, either double click on it and Mandriva should attempt to install it for you, or install from the command line with:
    Code:
    rpm -ivh program_name.rpm
    i = install
    v = verbose, i.e. print out messages
    h = print ### to show how much longer.

The tutorial Nazty linked to explains in more detail howto install different software.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Just Joined!
    Thanks - it's a lot to get my head around!

........... be back later

It's really not a problem that you have to ask, i'd say that "software installation" is the greater difference between the MS-Windows and Linux difference, for a windows user trying Linux.

I'll post a few things about that subject in case it can help you...