Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28
Just do: Code: su rpm -iv jre-1_5_0_05-linux-i586.rpm It will probably have some dependencies, so download their rpms and repeat....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035

    Just do:
    Code:
    su
    rpm -iv jre-1_5_0_05-linux-i586.rpm
    It will probably have some dependencies, so download their rpms and repeat.

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    12
    Now, I have everything installed and need to 'create a link to firefox plugins'

    Switch to the Firefox plugins directory:
    Enter: cd /usr/lib/mozilla-firefox-1.0.6/plugins {ENTER} (no quotes).

    Switch to the root user:
    Enter: su {ENTER}' (no quotes).
    Enter your root password when requested.

    For J2SE(TM) Runtime Environment 5.0 Update 4, create the link:
    Enter: ln -s /usr/java/jre1.5.0_04/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so {ENTER} (no quotes)

    For Java(TM) 2 Runtime Environment, Standard Edition 1.4.2_09, create the link:
    Enter: ln -s /usr/java/j2re1.4.2_09/plugin/i386/ns610-gcc32/libjavaplugin_oji.so {ENTER} (no quotes).

    cd/usr/lib/mozilla-fire......can't be found. What's the problem for this?

    And again, thanks a lot! You guys are awesome

  3. #13
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Sometimes it's located in /usr/lib/MozillaFirefox

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    12
    ah

    it still says its not found

    [hany@localhost ~]$ cd /usr/lib/MozillaFirefox-1.0.6/plugins
    bash: cd: /usr/lib/MozillaFirefox-1.0.6/plugins: No such file or directory

    is usr supposed to be hany?

    I tried that...also didn't work

    [hany@localhost ~]$ cd /hany/lib/MozillaFirefox-1.0.6/plugins
    bash: cd: /hany/lib/MozillaFirefox-1.0.6/plugins: No such file or directory

  5. #15
    Linux Engineer spencerf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    1,144
    maybe its just in

    /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins

    or you can try this:

    Code:
    whereis firefox
    and look at the output

    or the find command
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL

  6. #16
    Just Joined! djap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Beijing
    Posts
    99
    Also check that you have typed the path correctly.
    Code:
    cd /usr/lib
    ls -d moz*
    It should give you a few folders and one of them should belong to firefox.
    Mandriva normaly installs firefox in /usr/lib

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    12
    great thanks! it was in a different directory...
    I believe I did everything in the instructions. Here's the last part:

    Switch to the Firefox plugins directory:
    Enter: cd /usr/lib/mozilla-firefox-1.0.6/plugins {ENTER} (no quotes).

    Switch to the root user:
    Enter: su {ENTER}' (no quotes).
    Enter your root password when requested.

    For J2SE(TM) Runtime Environment 5.0 Update 4, create the link:
    Enter: ln -s /usr/java/jre1.5.0_04/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so {ENTER} (no quotes)

    For Java(TM) 2 Runtime Environment, Standard Edition 1.4.2_09, create the link:
    Enter: ln -s /usr/java/j2re1.4.2_09/plugin/i386/ns610-gcc32/libjavaplugin_oji.so {ENTER} (no quotes).

    I did that and opened mozilla to check it and it still said 'plugin missing'.

  8. #18
    Just Joined! djap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Beijing
    Posts
    99
    what do you get if you.
    Code:
    cd /usr/lib/mozilla-firefox-1.0.6/plugins
    ls
    edit:
    And you did restart your browser before trying it right?

    edit2:
    I did that and opened mozilla to check it and it still said 'plugin missing'.
    Oh sorry, missed that.

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    12
    lol its okay

    What should I do now?

  10. #20
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Make sure that the permissions on the plugin / directory the plugin is in are sane.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •