Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hello, I am a new linux user, and am dual booting Mandriva 2006 and XP. Since installing Mandriva, i have created a completely new 15GB FAT32 partition for my music. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3

    I can't find all of my partitions with Linux (Mandriva 2006)


    Hello,

    I am a new linux user, and am dual booting Mandriva 2006 and XP.
    Since installing Mandriva, i have created a completely new 15GB FAT32 partition for my music.

    I created it using Mandriva to resize the windows partition to make the space, and XP computer manager to create the new partition in the free space created.

    XP sees it fine, and I have succesfully transferred the music to it.

    However i cannot find it through mandriva, and when i looked at the disk management it was just an unknown section that did not appear to be 'mounted' anywhere.

    When i clicked on 'mount' it wanted to format the partition, which would destroy my music...

    Is there any way that i can get linux to 'see' the partition without formatting it?

    Thanks for reading this, and i hope i have not missed something obvious or silly...

    Tom

  2. #2
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    Can you post the output of the following commands (run as root obviosuly),
    Code:
    mount
    and
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    (lowercase "L", not the number one)
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3
    Hi,

    Thanks for your quick reply, i ran both of those commands in Linux -

    [tom@localhost ~]$ mount
    /dev/hda7 on / type ext3 (rw)
    none on /proc type proc (rw)
    none on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
    none on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    none on /mnt/floppy type supermount (rw,sync,dev=/dev/fd0,fs=ext2:vfat,--)
    /dev/hda1 on /mnt/windows type vfat (rw,umask=0,iocharset=iso8859-15,codepage=85 0)
    capifs on /dev/capi type capifs (rw)
    none on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw)
    /dev/hdc on /mnt/cdrom type iso9660 (ro,noexec,nosuid,nodev,users,umask=0,iochar set=iso8859-15,codepage=850,user=tom)
    [tom@localhost ~]$ fdisk -l
    bash: fdisk: command not found
    [tom@localhost ~]$ fdisk-l
    bash: fdisk-l: command not found

    as you can see, unfortunately the second one was not recognised. Doesn't mean much to me...

  4. #4
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    You can't run it as a regular user, you have to run it as root. Do this,
    Code:
    su -
    <your root password>
    fdisk -l
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  5. #5
    Linux User twoHats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    280

    NTFS

    Quote Originally Posted by smolloy
    You can't run it as a regular user, you have to run it as root. Do this,
    Code:
    su -
    <your root password>
    fdisk -l
    I would have jumped to the conclusion that we have an NTFS partition here ... but the methodical approach used by smolloy is probably a better way to go ...

    Have fun
    - Clouds don't crash - Bertrand Meyer

    registered Linux user 393557

    finally - hw to brag about - but next year it will look pitifully quaint:
    Athlon64 X2 3800 - 1G PC3200 - 250G SATA - ati radeon x300
    circa 2006

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3
    Sorry, i was thinking in windows terms, as in being a user that has administrative access and also i haven't used text interfaces since my Amstrad Basic 1.0....

    Although I have two NTFS partitions, since I discovered that Linux can't work with them I made a FAT32 partition, hda5, which is the one i am posting about.

    This is the output from the fdisk -l command -


    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 1 5098 40949653+ c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/hda2 5099 5289 1534207+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/hda3 5290 5416 1020127+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/hda4 6391 9729 26820517+ 5 Extended
    /dev/hda5 6391 8365 15864156 b W95 FAT32
    /dev/hda6 8366 8378 104391 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/hda7 8379 9729 10851876 83 Linux

    Hope this helps,
    Thanks,

  7. #7
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    From the output of the mount command it looks like you have already mounted hda1 which is also FAT32, so you may be able to edit /etc/fstab (again as root), make a copy of the hda1 line, and then change the copy to point to hda5.

    In the meantime do this,
    Code:
    su
    <your root password>
    mkdir /mnt/musicdrive
    mount -t vfat /dev/hda5 /mnt/musicdrive
    exit
    ls /mnt/musicdrive
    If that works, then you can go about changing /etc/fstab so it is automatically mounted at boot.
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •