Find the answer to your Linux question:
First I'll start by saying I am pretty new to linux. I have installed a couple different distros a few years ago to play around but never really got serious. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

HTTPD and SSHD not availible outside my local network

First I'll start by saying I am pretty new to linux. I have installed a couple different distros a few years ago to play around but never really got serious. I want to run a few servers and keep the system up 24/7 now as well as get familiar with linux fully.

My problem with with Apache HTTPD and SSHD. I can't seem to access either server on a remote system, or a system that isn't on my LAN. I have a cable modem going into a D-Link router, and the server is setup on the router. The Server has a static local IP on the router, is the DMZ on the router, and ports 80 and 22 are both forwarded to the local IP of the server in the router config. Unless I am missing some other crazy ports on the router, I don't think the router is the problem (I have a TeamSpeak server running on the linux box and it is accessable to the outside world.)

I have played with the Listen Address lines in both SSHD_Config and HTTPD_config. SSHD seems to accept it yet doesn't work, and HTTPD will generally give me some sort of error relating to the domain name or address of the server upon starting.

I am using Mandriva 2006 Free as a distro on kernel 2.6.12.
    I tried some differnt settings in drakehosts with no luck. I have also tried removing most if not all of the firewall options on the linux box itself (though I might have missed something somewhere [but again, the TeamSpeak server works.])