Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I was messing around with Mandriva 10.2 a few days ago, and I accidently set the resoulution too high for my monitor. Is there any way i can change the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    3

    Change Resolution through command prompt


    I was messing around with Mandriva 10.2 a few days ago, and I accidently set the resoulution too high for my monitor. Is there any way i can change the resolution through the failsafe mode command prompt?

    any help would be appreciated

    simay

  2. #2
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    You will have to edit the xorg.conf file.
    Use your fav text editor and open it. I will explain how to do this with nano and vi.

    As root

    vi /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    scroll down to the resolution settings, they are near the end
    delete the offending resolution by backspacing through it or putting the cursor on the first character and holding down the delete button.
    Then hit ZZ (must be capital z's) to quit and save your work.
    Reboot

    nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    do the same as in vi to delete the offending resolution,
    hit Ctrl and x and answer the prompts.
    reboot.

    If your OS uses xfree86, I believe it is the XF86Config file that you will need to edit.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    3
    bud,
    thanks for the response.
    i did what you said, edited my xorg.conf file, saved, and rebooted. now, when i do a normal start, mandriva goes to a command prompt instead of a gui logon like it normally would.

    do i need to specify a resolution in the xorg.conf file?
    if so, how do i? i tried when i was editing the xorg file, but both sets of my number keys seemed to be disabled.

    if not, how might i bet mandriva to do a graphical logon?


    simay

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    You didn't delete all of the resolutions in there did you?
    Just the ones that were to high.

    "xorgconfig" will write a new xorg.conf file, you will have to answer some questions about your computer.
    Monitor-vertical and horizontal refresh rates. They can be found on the back of your monitor.
    video card-what kind is it and how much memory does it have
    keyboard-what type is it
    mouse-Don't settle for the default type, try /dev/input/mice or /dev/psaux(if it is USB)

    Try "startx"
    In order for this to work you may need to create a .xinitrc file.
    su into root
    nano .xinitrc
    put one line in this file "startkde", without the "
    save and exit
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    3
    i did delete all of them, they were all too high.

    im going to try what you suggested as soon as i have time

    >"xorgconfig" will write a new xorg.conf file
    do i just type xorgconfig or startx into the command prompt and answer the questions?

    thanks
    simay

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer psic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    1,205
    Quote Originally Posted by simay
    i did delete all of them, they were all too high.

    im going to try what you suggested as soon as i have time

    >"xorgconfig" will write a new xorg.conf file
    do i just type xorgconfig or startx into the command prompt and answer the questions?

    thanks
    simay
    xorgconfig
    Stumbling around the 'net:
    www.cloudyuseful.com

  8. #7
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Yes, you do need to specify some resolutions.
    1024x768 or 800x600 should not be to high.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  9. #8
    Linux Newbie sabin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    207
    Another solution if you cannot find the frequencies for vertical and horizontal refresh, etcetera, etetera, but it will take longer (but it will be in graphical mode) : reboot with your Mandriva installation DVD. Chose "upgrade". Wait the usual steps (it won't destroy your system, only update what you chose to update), and then in the summary of the upgrades, chose to respecify again your graphical card and your monitor.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •