Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hi every one. I am having trouble installing Qt libraries from RPM. I have been reading about the problem and it appears the problem is in the V3 DSA signature ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    22

    Rpm installation help


    Hi every one. I am having trouble installing Qt libraries from RPM. I have been reading about the problem and it appears the problem is in the V3 DSA signature I am getting the following error.

    [root@x1-6-00-09-6b-40-03-e7 tmp]# rpm -i ftp://ftp.univie.ac.at/systems/linux...102mdk.src.rpm
    warning: /var/tmp/rpm-xfer.Y40HXz: V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 22458a98


    I have also tried installing these packages from file in local disk with the same result. I am using mandrake 10.1. I also tried the following command which points to to a problem with the V3 DSA signature .

    [root@x1-6-00-09-6b-40-03-e7 tmp]# rpm -Kv qt3-3.2.3-19.6.100mdk.src.rpm
    qt3-3.2.3-19.6.100mdk.src.rpm:
    Header V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 26752624
    Header SHA1 digest: OK (1cd835c3e91f112e84ef628e12471c7cc23b8273)
    MD5 digest: OK (9fdec78e9706386cd08325edf31bf6b,
    V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 26752624


    Your help with regard to this issue will be greatly appreciated thanks.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    I didn't see any sort of error message, so try to rpm -q to see if it's installed now.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    22
    Hi thanks for your reply. I did try your option and it has not installed can you tell me what I am missing here
    here is the output
    [root@x1-6-00-09-6b-40-03-e7 tmp]# rpm -i qt3-3.2.3-19.6.100mdk.src.rpm
    warning: qt3-3.2.3-19.6.100mdk.src.rpm: V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 26752624
    [root@x1-6-00-09-6b-40-03-e7 tmp]# rpm -q qt3-3.2.3-19.6.100mdk.src.rpm
    package qt3-3.2.3-19.6.100mdk.src.rpm is not installed

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Run
    Code:
    rpm -q qt

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    22
    I tried that too this is the output Is there nay thing special I need to do in order to get this to work thanks

    Code:
    [root@x1-6-00-09-6b-40-03-e7 wiraj]# rpm -q qt
    package qt is not installed

  7. #6
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Like lakerdonald said, there doesn't appear to be an error. Try:
    Code:
    rpm -qa | grep qt
    This should list all the rpms installed that have to do with qt.

    Is a program complaining that it is not installed?

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    22
    Well I executed your command
    Code:
    [root@x1-6-00-09-6b-40-03-e7 cwe]# rpm -qa |grep qt
    qt3-common-3.3.3-26mdk
    libqt3-3.3.3-26mdk
    it appears that qt is installed. Originally I was trying to compile a windows qt application in Linux, since it failed I tried to compile a dummy application with the same linkage problem here are my results.

    Code:
    [wiraj@x1-6-00-09-6b-40-03-e7 cwe]$ g++ -lqt hello.cpp -o hello
    hello.cpp:1:26: qapplication.h: No such file or directory
    source is
    Code:
    #include <qapplication.h>
    
    int main(int argc ,char **argv)
    {
        return 0;
    }
    I tried to search for the header file
    with find
    Code:
    [root@x1-6-00-09-6b-40-03-e7 cwe]# find / -name 'qapplication.h' -print
    with no results
    and both you guys thanks for your help so far
    btw I reset the following env variables from etc/profile to point to my qt installation as follows.
    Code:
    [wiraj@x1-6-00-09-6b-40-03-e7 cwe]$ echo $PATH
    /usr/lib/qt3/bin:/usr/local/bin:/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/games:/home/wiraj/bin
    [wiraj@x1-6-00-09-6b-40-03-e7 cwe]$ echo $QTDIR
    /usr/lib/qt3/
    [wiraj@x1-6-00-09-6b-40-03-e7 cwe]$ echo $MANPATH
    /usr/lib/qt3/man
    [wiraj@x1-6-00-09-6b-40-03-e7 cwe]$ echo $LD_LIBRARY_PATH
    /usr/lib/qt3/lib
    [wiraj@x1-6-00-09-6b-40-03-e7 cwe]$ echo $LIBRARY_PATH
    /usr/lib/qt3/lib
    [wiraj@x1-6-00-09-6b-40-03-e7 cwe]$ echo $CPLUS_INCLUDE_PATH
    /usr/lib/qt3/include

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    51
    Hi every one. I am having trouble installing Qt libraries from RPM. I have been reading about the problem and it appears the problem is in the V3 DSA signature I am getting the following error.

    [root@x1-6-00-09-6b-40-03-e7 tmp]# rpm -i ftp://ftp.univie.ac.at/systems/linux...102mdk.src.rpm
    warning: /var/tmp/rpm-xfer.Y40HXz: V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 22458a98

    I have also tried installing these packages from file in local disk with the same result. I am using mandrake 10.1. I also tried the following command which points to to a problem with the V3 DSA signature .

    [root@x1-6-00-09-6b-40-03-e7 tmp]# rpm -Kv qt3-3.2.3-19.6.100mdk.src.rpm
    qt3-3.2.3-19.6.100mdk.src.rpm:
    Source RPMs contain the uncompiled source code used to build the package as well as the package spec file. They install into a directory structure in ~/rpm or /usr/src/linux/rpm or something similar in a way that lets you easily patch the code, change the spec file and rebuild the package. They don't install anything that can be used by other programs on the system.

    [root@x1-6-00-09-6b-40-03-e7 wiraj]# rpm -q qt
    package qt is not installed
    Source packages don't show up in the RPM database.

    qt3-common-3.3.3-26mdk libqt3-3.3.3-26mdk

    it appears that qt is installed. Originally I was trying to compile a windows qt application in Linux, since it failed I tried to compile a dummy application with the same linkage problem here are my results.
    This looks like a working qt installation. However if you want to compile something that links against qt you also need to install the -devel package - the 'golden rule' when trying to compile stuff is to always get the -devel packages. If you haven't already done so goto http://easyurpmi.zarb.org and setup the software repos since most of the -devel packages aren't on the CDs. Now use the Mandriva software installer to install libqt3-devel.

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    22
    Hi thanks for your reply really appreciate it. This urpmi package manager is really grate I installed qt devel without much trouble. And sorry for my delayed reply (I been busy). And once again thank you very much.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •