Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm new to linux, and I just installed Mandriva 2006 on a 11GB partition. After the installation I tried to start linux and it passes all of the initial checks, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Mandriva does not start up

I'm new to linux, and I just installed Mandriva 2006 on a 11GB partition. After the installation I tried to start linux and it passes all of the initial checks, then the screen turns blue and there is an hourglass in the middle. Then the hourglass goes away and it turns into a cursor. I can move the mouse around, but nothing happens after that. What do I do? I've installed twice now with the same results.

What kind of box are you installing on? Please give us some specs. so we have an idea of the hardware you're using.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

don't really know. But try:-

Press Ctrl Alt F1 at the same time. If you are presented with a black screen with white text with a login prompt, enter root and when prompted enter the root password (you may know it as the superuser or the admin user) that you setup during the install. Now that you're in Linux at the command line , enter tail --lines 45 /var/log/messages . The screen will scroll the last 45 lines of the system log. Reading this may give you a clue (pressing the shift and the page up keys, will scroll you up to the text that has scrolled off the top of the screen).

Nerderello

Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

Just Joined!
    System info:
    AMD Athlon 64 3800+ 2.4Ghz
    DFI Lanparty UT NF4
    EVGA 256MB 7800 GT 500MHz/1240
    Seagate 160GB internal ATA drive
    Sony DVD burner
    Seagate 250GB external drive

Quote Originally Posted by dmham1586
    System info:
    AMD Athlon 64 3800+ 2.4Ghz
    DFI Lanparty UT NF4