Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm new to Linux and I need some help. I'm running Mandrake 10.1 and I had my resolution at 1024*768. I went to the configure your computer window through the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Higher resolution display problem

I'm new to Linux and I need some help. I'm running Mandrake 10.1 and I had my resolution at 1024*768. I went to the configure your computer window through the system option. I changed my resolution to 1268(?)*1024 and now my screen is all messed up.
    It's like there are several screens on the one. Everything overlaps on itself.
    Is there a way to get it back to 1024*728, is there like a Alt+? or Ctrl+? that I can use.
    Any help would be very much appreciated.

Quote Originally Posted by Jonathon
    I'm new to Linux and I need some help. I'm running Mandrake 10.1 and I had my resolution at 1024*768. I went to the configure your computer window through the system option. I changed my resolution to 1268(?)*1024 and now my screen is all messed up.
    It's like there are several screens on the one. Everything overlaps on itself.
    Is there a way to get it back to 1024*728, is there like a Alt+? or Ctrl+? that I can use.
    Any help would be very much appreciated.
    well as it might depend on a few things, I don't know.

Is this a laptop ? because laptops (having fixed native resolutions) are notorious for doing strange things.

In truth, whether is a laptop or desktop, I think it's a case of editing your xorg.conf file so that you can restore the previous resolution - Erm that changed one should read 1280x1024, but irrespective.......

This is what the monitor and screen sections look on my /etc/X11/xorg.conf file look like - yes you may think that this looks different from yours i.e. I'm using 1600x1200, because my monitor is a 21 inch Philips 201b, but that isn't a problem.
    Section "Monitor"