Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Im unable to install as well, my install errors out to No CDROM found, even after the system boots up off the DVD, and goes into the install mode. ::Moderator ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    7

    Installation issues as well.


    Im unable to install as well, my install errors out to No CDROM found, even after the system boots up off the DVD, and goes into the install mode.

    ::Moderator Note:: This thread was moved from another one dealing with SuSE Installation.
    Last edited by techieMoe; 01-18-2006 at 12:41 PM.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Quote Originally Posted by satmando
    Im unable to install as well, my install errors out to No CDROM found, even after the system boots up off the DVD, and goes into the install mode.

    ::Moderator Note:: This thread was moved from another one dealing with SuSE Installation.
    What a strange and intriguing problem! At what point during the install does this happen? How far do you get? I've never seen this error before.

    Have you previously installed/uninstalled any distros on the same partitions? I wonder if your IDE channels are okay for those devices - it could be a weird hardware problem.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    107

    no install

    Yes, when does the install go bad?

    Is this optical drive known good? Learned a long time ago to use a slow (24x or less) , brand name optical drive for installations.

    Is the DVD known good? Did you burn this yourself?

    Sometimes 'bad' RAM handles certain patterns OK but not others, and installs go fine until certain quantities or 'patterns' of RAM are required, then it all goes sour. Try windiag or memtest86.

    good luck

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Lakewood, WA
    Posts
    112
    Maybe the ends of your IDE cable? I had a drive not showing up because the IDE cable that came with it was crap. It plugged on ok and I opened up my machine to double check all the connections and when I pulled the cable off the tip didn't come with it, so try a different IDE cable and see if it works any better, the one you have may have a short somewhere.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •