Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
So, I'm a life-long Windows user, but I decided to install Mandriva on my desktop and my laptop. The laptop installation went beautifully. The desktop installation was odd. At first, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Won't find other HDDs [though it used to..!]

So, I'm a life-long Windows user, but I decided to install Mandriva on my desktop and my laptop. The laptop installation went beautifully. The desktop installation was odd. At first, it installed Linux on my C [SATA] drive but the boot loader on my E [Primary IDE] drive. See, my BIOS puts the EIDE drives first THEN the SATA drives but my boot drive is SATA[0]. Anyway, since I'm new to Linux, the only way I could figure out how to get the boot loader on the C drive is to unplug all the other drives upon installation. Once I plugged everything back in, Linux booted fine but it would only detect the drive on which it was installed.

FINALLY GETTING TO THE POINT:
    How do I get Linux to add the other three drives to it's list of installed devices..? I really need the files on those other drives!

PS - I'm a Linux N00b.

Ah well, it depends which bootloader you chose when you set your system up. Many people use Lilo and some prefer Grub (and there's a very good Grub tutorial in these forums).

Adding other hdds is a question of editing the lilo configuration file which is in /etc/lilo.conf

It's been a while since I did this, so I would read this: http://www-128.ibm.com/developerwork...w01LILOandGRUB

To edit it successfully you'll need to log into your root account. Linux won't let you mess around in there without that! The section in lilo.conf for adding other hdds is under 'other'. Eg:
    other=/dev/hdb
    label=WindowsXP

This might help a bit. You need to run