Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi there, I'm a linux noob, so I'd really appreciate a few pointers in the right direction here ... I've got Mandriva 2006 running on a laptop - the only ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Access network resources

Hi there,

I'm a linux noob, so I'd really appreciate a few pointers in the right direction here ...

I've got Mandriva 2006 running on a laptop - the only peripheral the laptop has is a parallel port floppy drive. It also has a wireless LAN card, which is working well to connect to the internet via my router.

I also have a desktop on the wireless lan which is now dual boot winxp and mandriva 2006 and has 2 x IDE CD and DVD drives - I'd really like to be able to access these drives from the laptop - it doesn't matter much to me whether I need to be running winxp or mandriva on the desktop to make this easier.

Cheers ... Nick.

Just Joined!
    Hum - no replies. Oh well - here's an update.

I decided to go at this with linux running on both machines, as that sounded easier. I've set up the hosts definitions with the two machines having different names on the network, and with NFS server running on the desktop machine, and nfs-client-utils installed on the laptop.

However, I'm now stuck: all the howto's I've found tell me that I should just be able to go ahead and mount the remote drives on the laptop (I have shared them in /etc/exports on the desktop). The mount command on the laptop just hangs.

I've gone back to basics, i.e. ping. I can successfully ping the laptop from the desktop, but I can't ping the desktop from the laptop - again, this just hangs. The laptop definitely has network connectivity, as it can access internet, and can also ping the router.

Can anyone help?

Nick.

Just Joined!
    OK, I'm getting closer.