Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have just installed Mandriva for the fourth time(the last two being kind of identical) and everytime I had to confront with dissapointment. Initially I had some issues with the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

mandriva wont load!!!!

I have just installed Mandriva for the fourth time(the last two being kind of identical) and everytime I had to confront with dissapointment. Initially I had some issues with the boot loader which i suppose is solved coz I finally get the "Welcome to Mandrake" thing but in few seconds, comp reboots. I have spent the entire day trying to read the instructions u ppl have on ur forum and this installation thing and it has taken a toll on me. I have 2 hdd's n have installed mandriva on the hda with bootloader installed on the first boot sector of the root partition and later in one of the configurations assigned it to /dev/hda.
    This is my first time with linux so i m in a quandry whether to pursue it or revert to good ol windows. Awaiting replies.

regards
    Ashwin

Hello! Okay, some questions. Which bootloader are you using, what issues did you have with it, which version of Mandriva are you using?

What are your hardware specs? I'm particularly thinking of your graphics card: nVidia or ATI? Are you dual booting with Windows?

Can you get as far as a command line?
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

Just Joined!
    Hey Fingal thanks for the reply. Well I have opted for LILO with graphical menu as my bootloader which as i said before have installed at /dev/hda and not in hda8(where my /boot is coz i tried it and it dint happen). Well I have downloaded the 3 cd pack of Mandriva-Linux-Free-2006-.i586 from one of the distro sites.