Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm new to linux, I don't understand any codes in the DOS-like enviroment. I installed Mandriva 2006 and I can't get my modem to work. I tried to look it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Modem Problems

I'm new to linux, I don't understand any codes in the DOS-like enviroment. I installed Mandriva 2006 and I can't get my modem to work. I tried to look it up and figure out the codes and got nowhere. Could someone Please help me out...I ran some scanmodem program and was told the following:

PCIBUS=00:02.6

Providing detail for device at 00:02.6
    with vendor-ID:device-ID
    ----:----
    Class 0703: 1039:7013 Modem: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] AC'97 Modem Controller (rev a0) (prog-if 00 [Generic])
    SubSystem 1849:9739 ASRock Incorporation: Unknown device 9739
    Flags: medium devsel, IRQ 18

-----PCI_IDs------- --CompilerVer-
    Feature List: Primary Subsystem Distr KernelVer kernel default CPU
    ./scanModem test 1039:7013 1849:9739 mandrake 2.6.12-12mdk 4.0.1 4.0.1 i686
    From records, 1849:9739 has soft modem codec type SIL21
    The following two Root commands should set up the modem.
    modprobe snd-intel8x0m
    slmodemd --alsa -c YOUR_COUNTRY modem:1
    Get the SLMODEMD.gcc4.tar.gz from http://linmodems.technion.ac.il/packages/smartlink/

The controller: 1039:7013 SIS 630
    is capable of supporting soft modem chips from AT LEAST manufacturers:
    Pctel
    AgereSystems
    Conexant
    Intel
    Smartlink
    The Subsystem has a PCTel codec SIL21
    ln -sf ttyS3 /dev/modem
    ./scanModem: line 3433: lsmod: command not found

I don't understand what do do with the info given to me....could someone help or point me in the right direction....I really know nothing about linux but don't want to go back to windows

confusing isn't it.