Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi All... Sorry if I have posted this in the wrong bit, or if someone else has asked this same question but after hours of searching.. I am still none ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Bootsplash HELP!

Hi All...

Sorry if I have posted this in the wrong bit, or if someone else has asked this same question but after hours of searching.. I am still none the wizer..

The thing is.. As a newbie, and with the free version of Mandriva 2006.. I have a problem with the bootsplash screen.. I want to customise it away from that grim blue picture with FREE plastered over it.. to something more flasher.. Thing is, I have tried for days the various things I have found.. but the Grub/Lilo part just will not change, WHY
    Can someone help a ex-Microsoft heretic migrate..

Cheers all, and Don't forget I am a newbie.. so don't get to technical

Bodders

Just Joined!

Cool may help

just go into configure your computer and uncheck "display theme under console".
    then you dont get the theme..
    try making your own theme.. may cause you a headache but if you installed all the documentation then you should find a man page for what you want to do.. you can get a non graphical startup(called text).. its like looking at grass grow... which is also in same screen up where it says "silent", click on that and select"text"..
    i haven't tried making my own theme but will give it a try later and if i'm successful i'll let you know..

hope it helps...

Just Joined!
    Thanks Wraithe

Managed to change most off the splashes, except the Grub (or is it Lilo) splash.. It is doing my head in.. as I want to use Mandriva for the schools PCs but that "Free" splash makes it look so cheep!

TY

Bodders

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Quote Originally Posted by bodvoc
    Thanks Wraithe