Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
At the beginning I would jus want to say that I did search the forum and was unable to find the answer to my question but if there is one ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Installing and connecting to internet.

At the beginning I would jus want to say that I did search the forum and was unable to find the answer to my question but if there is one I am sorry and would be very happy if you could just give me a link to it.

I am a total newbe, so please consider that my knowledge is very small. Now lets get to the point:

I have Mandrake 10.1 and Windows XP Home edition installed. I want to start using linux but without internet it is a bit point less, so I decided to install Internet on to the Mandrake. The problem I have is simple: How to do it? I have DSL connection. I connect to internet through a home network. I use wireless adapter. (For UK users: I use BT wireless adater 1010.)

For any help, thank you.

PS. if you need more information in order to be able to answer my question, feel free to ask.

does your computer connect to the internet wirelessly through a router of sorts? A better discription of how your network is setup would help greatly in providing assistance.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Yes it connects to internet through a router. Basicly I have a network of 3 computers (two wireless and one connected directly to the router). We use a n infrastructure model (all computer connect to internet throught the router). To connect to the network I need to install the adapter. I am unable to do that, as well. It works fine on Windows but I suspect (tell me if I am wrong, as I said I am newbe) that it might be the case that I need a special CD for a linux.