Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Running mandrake 10.1, download an antivirus, want to install it. How? I have the correct .rpm on my desktop, but when i double click it, *success it installed* (something like ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2

    You've probably heard this one before...


    Running mandrake 10.1, download an antivirus, want to install it.
    How?
    I have the correct .rpm on my desktop, but when i double click it, *success it installed* (something like that) appears, but I don't see the software anywhere on my pc!
    Please help, I realise you will have heard this before but I can't seem to find an answer.
    NO I DO NOT want to install the software from a CD
    NEITHER do i want to install it from some set source
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    whats the name of antivirus, you could execute this command to see if it installed:
    Code:
    rpm -qa | grep name_of_antivirus
    Also, have you taken a look at the place where you downloaded the rpm from for usage instructions for the program?
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  3. #3
    Linux User muha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    290
    this could help you found out it's hiding :P

    apropos <program name or topic>
    Give me the list of the commands that have something to to do with my topic. Emulates man -k

    whereis <program name>
    to find a program. It give an output such as kate: /opt/kde3/bin/kate

    man <program name or command>
    Gives you the manual pages for a program.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Have you tried executing it from the command line? Some programs do not get added to your menus and depend on you executing them from the command line.

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2
    o_O ok, thanks how would I run a command line promt?
    Sorry, I realise all these are idiot level questions.

  7. #6
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    Look for an icon in your taskbar which looks like a tv screen, that is a shortcut to the terminal. Otherwise look in your start menu equivalent and hunt around under the System tab for terminal.

    Hey, don't worry about asking stupid questions, it is the only way anyone can learn.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •