Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
Hi all! I'm new to Linux and i'm having some difficulties: i have installed first SUSE 10 and then Mandrake 10.1 and with both i have the same weird problem ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    11

    Password issue


    Hi all!

    I'm new to Linux and i'm having some difficulties: i have installed first SUSE 10
    and then Mandrake 10.1 and with both i have the same weird problem :
    when i open the command line to log in as a root , i can type my name
    but not the password , the cursur is there its flashing but i cannot type anything.
    Everywhere else i can type whatever i want, so its not the keyboard.

    Thanks in advance for any help!

  2. #2
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Hi there

    Can I ask how you are trying to log in as root? Are you typing:

    su

    on the command line? Thought it was worth asking the basics. A typical log-in would be:

    $fingals_box: su
    <enter your password>
    #fingals_box: ls -al

    I listed all my files or something similar.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    11
    Well when i open the command line with ctrl-alt-f1 he ask me right away
    "local host login"

    By the way is there a way for automatic login for administrator?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Quote Originally Posted by gm__
    Well when i open the command line with ctrl-alt-f1 he ask me right away
    "local host login"

    By the way is there a way for automatic login for administrator?
    I think you can choose to log-in automatically under the 'Boot Options' section of 'Configure Your Computer'. But I think you are confusing the 'command line' (within a terminal) with your initial log-in.

    When you set up your system to start with you should supply some passwords to use later on: your root password and your user log-in.

    I don't advise logging into your gui as root. That can lead to a lot of problems, and you would be better using root access from a terminal.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    11
    Thanks for your help Fingal, but now i'm more confused than before,
    i dont even know what's the difference between a command line and a terminal , and which one should i use to install a software , i suppose both...

    and if i type this "$gm__s_box: su" it gives me nothing

    Anyway i will keep on searching, thanks again!

  7. #6
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Quote Originally Posted by gm__
    Thanks for your help Fingal, but now i'm more confused than before,
    i dont even know what's the difference between a command line and a terminal , and which one should i use to install a software , i suppose both...

    and if i type this "$gm__s_box: su" it gives me nothing

    Anyway i will keep on searching, thanks again!
    Hmm, I'm curious. Can you use any commands from there? Try typing ls -l Then hit Enter. Do you get output? I'd be surprised if you didn't, but I'd like to know anyway.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    9

    Simple Minded Me!

    When you type your password the curser will not move, it is a security thing just type it and hit enter.www.linuxforums.com

  9. #8
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    Quote Originally Posted by gm__
    i dont even know what's the difference between a command line and a terminal , and which one should i use to install a software , i suppose both...
    One way you can think of this is like so: Your graphical session is basicially run from the command line initially. A Terminal is like a "window" into the command line i.e. it lets you access the command line without quiting your graphical session.

    And youd don't need to type: "$gm__s_box: su" Fingal was trying to illustrate what the command line/terminal shows as its default entry field i.e. the hostname.domainname of the computer followed by the comman. All you need to do is login as yourself, then execute "su" (without quotes) to get root access.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    11
    Guys i take a bow! It's working. Thanks a lot!

    @Fingal , yes i get output , its ok now

    @cdean2005 , thanks a lot man , now i'm logged in as su
    it was something to know though , they could have noted it somewhere...

    @AlexK thanks to you, i can see clearly now the rain has gone...

    _________________________________________________
    Its not that bad that Linux things if there are some nice guys willing to help
    you / i was already on the point to throw it out by the window /

  11. #10
    Linux User muha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    290
    On installing stuff:
    1) most things you'll need are already installed on your system
    2) usually newbies will start installing stuff with package-managers like yast or apt-get
    (as i do )

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •