Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
I am trying to dual boot WinXP(i need it for stuff..even though i hate Windows) and Mandrake Linux 10.1. I went through the install and all seemed to go well. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    7

    Angry Mandrake Linux 10.1 Reboots


    I am trying to dual boot WinXP(i need it for stuff..even though i hate Windows) and Mandrake Linux 10.1. I went through the install and all seemed to go well. The bootloader menu comes up and i choose linux. The screen shows .......... and then says bios data check successful. After that my pc simply reboots. I tried failsafe as well..but still no go. My WindowsXP still works fine. Any suggestions or help are greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    .nl
    Posts
    70
    I think your initial init setup is set to "init 0" ... don´t see how that´s possible but it could be your problem. It doesn´t give any error messages, does it? It just reboots after the bios check?

    Cheers,

    Rob.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    7
    nope..no errors it just restarts

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    .nl
    Posts
    70
    The only logical explanation would be that 'init' is set to ´init 0' instead of 'init 3 or 5' (init 0 means it'll reboot, init 3 = CLI and init 5 = X11). I don´t know how to change that if you can´t even log in. Did you manually modify the 'inittab' file in /etc/ ?

    mmm .. you probaly messed it up during the installation of Mandrake.

    Cheers,

    edit: woops .. yeah .. init 6 is reboot .. rofl .. ah well.

    Rob.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    7
    Could i change it using a live cd?

    Update: I just checked and it is set to 5. I went to LILO and pressed escape..i tried booting linux 1,2,3,4,5 and none worked.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    .nl
    Posts
    70
    Honestly, I don´t know. I highly doubt it because I don´t think you can change system critical files using a live cd. Maybe you can log in as root, maybe not. Try it.

  7. #7
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,127
    Yes you will be able to change it using a live cd. Just browse to that file in the mounted partition and with root privelages change the setting. For reference - init 6 is reboot - init 0 is halt.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    7
    Read my update

  9. #9
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,127
    This is something I hate suggesting - so apologies for the inconvenience. If you're having this much trouble I'm guessing one of two problems -
    • Kernel was not installed properly or some critical files are missing
    • There is some hardware causing the issue
    I'm not so sure this is the second - Have you tried reinstalling Mandrake? For the 45 minutes it'll take, it may be the simplest way out.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    7
    All the hardware checked ok during the install, so i am going to just try reinstalling

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •