Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie to Linux and therefore Mandriva 2006 Free (Mini-Image - 1 CD). The first thing I have to do is set up my WLAN. I was ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Can't get DWL-122 to work...

Hi everyone,
    I'm a newbie to Linux and therefore Mandriva 2006 Free (Mini-Image - 1 CD).
    The first thing I have to do is set up my WLAN. I was recommended a D-Link DWL-122 (USB) which I plugged in. HardDrake recognizes the stick as a network adapter (even gives the right name). Now the problems start:
    I'm trying to configure the wireless-connection through the first of three points which is configuring the recognized stick. When I do this it says "No fitting device found" (loose translation) and jumps back to the selection-screen. Second option is "configure manually". I selected the "prism (USB)"-driver and I get the same result as in 1.
    Third option is ndiswrapper, I had to install it: I downloaded the V1.02-driver for XP including NETPRISM.inf, PRISMUSB.sys, PRISMNDS.sys. When I point to that files it says "No working drivers found" or "Drivers not working" (don't remember exactly). So I tried the command-line. I did everything by the HOW-TOs and in the end "ndiswrapper -l" gives me an "invalid device/driver". It is EXACTLY the driver the ndiswrapper-site says is correct and I can't understand why it isn't working
    Can anybody tell me what could be my next step? And please keep in mind I'm a newbie and don't understand "compile-your-own-kernel-mumbo-jumbo"
    Thanks!

Welcome to the forums Primal,
    when using ndiswrapper, try using the drivers which came with the card on the cd. or take a look at this site to see what drivers other people used to get the card working.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Just Joined!

Unhappy

Quote Originally Posted by AlexK
    Welcome to the forums Primal,