Find the answer to your Linux question:
Good afternoon(my time) all. I am currently running Mandriva 2006 and have a working http server. I am trying to get ftp working. I have been searching for days on-line ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help with setting up an FTP server

Good afternoon(my time) all.

I am currently running Mandriva 2006 and have a working http server. I am trying to get ftp working. I have been searching for days on-line as well as on my system. I do not seem to have any ftp daemon running or even located on the system. I have tried urpmi ftpd and get a "no package named ftpd" message returned. I have searched the install DVD I made from the ISO I downloaded and still find nothing.

Not sure where else to turn at this point. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

FYI I am still somewhat new to running Linux so let me know if there are any additional things you might need to know.

Thanks

Just Joined!
    If I remeber right 2006 does not come with an FTP server. Why they took it out from 2005 Limited I don't know. But I'm sure you can get the package needed from online. I am using 2005 Limited on my Web/FTP server. I use Proftpd as thats what 2005 comes with. There may be others that people recomend but Proftpd is a place to start. Good Luck.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by Socialoutcast
    If I remeber right 2006 does not come with an FTP server. Why they took it out from 2005 Limited I don't know. But I'm sure you can get the package needed from online. I am using 2005 Limited on my Web/FTP server. I use Proftpd as thats what 2005 comes with. There may be others that people recomend but Proftpd is a place to start. Good Luck.