Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey, I'm brand new to using the Linux OS, and Mandriva is my first install. I've been doing relatively well. By following the instructions given I've been able to figure ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Open Office 2.0.2 install problem

Hey,

I'm brand new to using the Linux OS, and Mandriva is my first install. I've been doing relatively well. By following the instructions given I've been able to figure out how to do most of everyting, but I have two problems with OO.

First was a mistake on my part. I forgot to delete one of the rpm's for another ditro before installing. Is this a bad thing? Or does it make no diference? And, if it is a bad thing, how do I go about removing the unwanted rpm?

The second problem is that I dont know how to create a shortcut to open OO 2.0.2. My d/l of Mandriva came with OO 1.1.5, but I would like to remove the old version and get the new one installed and running. So, how do I uninstall 1.1.5? And, how do I create the shortcut to target the OO 2.0.2 run file?

Any on another note, I was wondering if i could get a full list of the Konsole commands, with their appropriate switches, and what their functions are.

Thanks

Hi

Leaving rpms lying around on your system won't harm anything. To remove files you can either use a terminal (the command line) or use a file manager like Konqueror. To use a command line type:

rm <file_name> and if you aren't in your home directory that's going to be more like:
    su
    <your_password>
    rm <file_name>

Creating shortcuts is quite similar to the Windows method. Right click on your desktop and 'Create New' choose 'Link to application' and navigate to the executable file(s). When you installed Ooo should have added its components to your menu system. This might not be immediately obvious until you restart your machine.