Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
~ Hey You have probably heard this a million times, and it would be OK to boot me from forums, but...... I think I just installed Mandriva 10 out of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    11

    command prompt


    ~

    Hey

    You have probably heard this a million times, and it would be OK to boot me from forums, but......

    I think I just installed Mandriva 10

    out of the 4 CDs,

    I installed CD 4 first, and had better luck.


    Now, I created uesr name and password at the local host prompt

    took me to:

    [myname@localhost ~]$

    what do I type in to enter?
    Would this take me into Mandriva?
    What are the command prompt for Mandriva?
    How do I install the other 3 CDs?

    I am trying to DUAL BOOT with XP, at start up, I see XP and Linux selection.
    I can log onto XP fine.

    I created a Linux Partition.

    Everything looks good, I just need a pointer at the $ # prompts.

    Does it sound as if I am close to being a member of the MAndriva Linux community?


    Thanks for any help offered.

    ~

  2. #2
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Hi

    It is quite a common question. It's possible to set things up so that you log into a graphical environment at boot time.

    From your command prompt try typing: startx If that doesn't get you anywhere you might try: startkde

    Some people prefer Gnome or another desktop environment however. If you manage to get into a GUI select System>Configuration>Configure Your Computer>Boot

    In the boot options dialogue you will find an option to boot into your GUI whenever you start up your system.

    I'm not sure what you have on the other cds!
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    11
    ~
    Thanks for responding.

    tried both,

    command not found

    any other suggestions?

    T
    ~

    this is where I downloaded

    http://www.softpedia.com/get/UNIX/Di...va-Linux.shtml

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Thanks for responding.

    tried both,

    command not found

    any other suggestions?

    T
    ~

    this is where I downloaded

    http://www.softpedia.com/get/UNIX/Di...va-Linux.shtml
    I can't tell much from your description of what and how you installed, but assuming you downloaded the full distro you should get the option to configure and install your chosen GUI and start it up at boot time. Sounds like you just installed a very basic set of options with no GUI, so if you want one you'll need to try installing again (or 'upgrading') so you can add the packages you need.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    11
    ~

    Thanks again.

    I downloaded 4 cds from the link, Mandriva 10.
    Created a LINUX partition, with Partition Magic.

    Now, the cds, I inserted disk 4, MINI CD it is called.

    Followed the install instructions, installed Mandriva on the Linux Partition, hda, ext2.

    At start up, I see the little, cute penguin, with XP or Linux boot option.

    I can log onto XP easy.

    At Mandriva, it takes me to the prompt
    [myname@localhost ~] $

    I was only able to install CD4, I haven't tried the other 3 CDs.

    I will insert CD 1 and reboot, and see if it install.
    If not I will try CD 3 first.

    Is there a way to install CDs at the prompt?

    I will reboot first.

    TY
    ~

    Looks like when I created an image, it didn't burn right.
    Burnt CD 1 again, and it looks like it is taking.

    I hope it asks for CD2 3 and 4



    PSS

    YES YES YES
    it is taking now, on CD 2


    MORAL OF THE STORY.

    When burning the IMAGE make sure there are no error messages.

    The first 2 CDs fill to the max, and I think the burner didn't handle it the first time.

  7. #6
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    You did pretty well really because at least you have an option to dual boot. Sometimes if you try to burn an image too quickly it can be incomplete. It's strange though because usually the Mandriva installation is self explanatory and you would expect to install from all the CDs as you suggest.

    Be careful when you find the option to configure your video card. You need to make sure you select the right make and model during installation. A lot of people get through the install process and then wonder why they can't boot into a GUI

    If you install Mandriva LE 2005 you will find your boot time is quite slow. That's just how it is with that distro.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    11
    ~

    t

    What are Packages and do I need all of them?

    On CD 2, there are about 10 that did not install because of errors.

    It does prompt to go ahead and skip these packages.

    Will Mandriva still work without these packages?

    I did record OK.

    Hmmmmmm

    ~TY

    I did not get the graphics card setting right the first time.

    I am reinstalling one more time, then I give up.

  9. #8
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Quote Originally Posted by j_of_g
    ~

    t

    What are Packages and do I need all of them?

    On CD 2, there are about 10 that did not install because of errors.

    It does prompt to go ahead and skip these packages.

    Will Mandriva still work without these packages?

    I did record OK.

    Hmmmmmm

    ~TY
    Well - packages are software packages. Mandriva is based on Redhat so the 'packages' have the *.rpm suffix attached to them. This stands for 'Redhat Package Manager' ... Think of them as little bundles of pre-compiled code.

    I have no way of knowing which packages your installation skipped, but if you're from a Windows background I would advise using KDE as your desktop environment, so therefore you need KDE packages. Or you might wish to try Gnome instead.

    You should make sure you have Xorg installed and gcc ... If you want to list the packages which you can't install I should be able to advise you.

    You don't need to install everything. Just the packages which are essential for a complete system, and after that the tools you want to use.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    11

    Unhappy xmnt.2002

    ~
    I just tried to install Dual Boot MAndriva and XP on my Sager Notebook.

    There were too many packages that did not install, and it didn't ask for CD3.

    On start up, I see the Penguin, but only Windows OS, not Mandriva.

    When it does try to start up, I get this message:

    xmnt.2002 program not found
    autochk not found,

    ten it just keeps looping.

    Before I try to Reinstall and use the 'Erase the Partition' option, is there a way for me to get back into XP.

    Before I started, I created a Linux partition using Partition Magic.

    On install, I selected 'Use Existing Partition'.


    Trying to install Mandriva is making me count Penguins.

    thanks one last time.
    ~

  11. #10
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    I still think you have an incomplete distro. xmnt is probably responsible for ensuring that you can use the X window manager, so it's not finding and installing essential packages for this distro.

    The reasons? I would be speculating, but perhaps the site you're downloading from just doesn't have the complete set of packages. A lot of these sites have good intentions ... not all of them deliver on those. Personally I much prefer to install from a single dvd, but I know this might not be practical for you.

    As for Windows? I deleted it from my hard drive years ago so I have no idea about installing it, and I'm not going back to using it.

    If you still want to go ahead and try Linux I think the easiest thing for a newbie is to order a pay-for version direct from a supplier. I also think SuSE is a slightly better bet ... The new Open SuSE is coming out in April so you might like to think about trying that (it's free btw). I'm going to try it myself so I hope it's good!
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •