Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
trying to install linux mandrake 10.1, i got error when trying to make partition on linux. tryed to make different kind of linux partition with 3,5gb and swap partition about ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    3

    Problem installing linux mandrake


    trying to install linux mandrake 10.1, i got error when trying to make partition on linux. tryed to make different kind of linux partition with 3,5gb and swap partition about 500mb! when trying to make partition i get error that "cant write /tmp/" so is my harddrive broken or what i have make wrong?!

  2. #2
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Hello - if your partition is only 3.5 GB (did I read that right?) then you don't have enough room to install. You just need a bigger hdd.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    3

    more hdd space?

    Quote Originally Posted by fingal
    Hello - if your partition is only 3.5 GB (did I read that right?) then you don't have enough room to install. You just need a bigger hdd.
    installation only shows that it requires about 1,4gb space? how much more do i need?

  4. #4
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Hi - I think you need another 1 gig (though 0.5 might do it for a full installation). It's been a while since I installed from scratch, but I think there's an option to do a minimum install which takes up a lot less room.

    It's not ideal to use a drive that size though IMHO. You could probably pick up a cheap one somewhere (let's say 20/30 gig) for not too much money. I have a spare one in fact - which I don't need - but it's old kit.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    3
    that error comes when i try to save my partitions, so i think its not about the size of my hd.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Quote Originally Posted by holypanda
    that error comes when i try to save my partitions, so i think its not about the size of my hd.
    Okay then. At what point does the error occur during your installation? Are you using Mandriva's graphical installer? Do you definitely know that you definitely have enough room for a full install?
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  7. #7
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    delete any partitions which may be on the drive, and use Mandrake's "auto allocate" feature to create and write the partition table for you.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  8. #8
    Linux User Kojak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    421
    Make sure that absolutely all partitions are gone. Maybe there is a hidden partition, which would be very ugly.
    Windows free since 2002 | computing since 1984

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •