Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have never used Linux before and have no basic knowledge of it. I want to install Mandriva and already tried a couple of times but unfortunately no success. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Pleaseeee Help with Installation

I have never used Linux before and have no basic knowledge of it. I want to install Mandriva and already tried a couple of times but unfortunately no success. I know why I was unable install it.
    The problem is that I am installing it on a Laptop with Intel Celeron M Processor and am unsure of the category to choose from this link that most web forums mention:
    http://wwwnew.mandriva.com/en/downloads/mirrors

I want to know whether this processor (Intel Celeron M 1.40 GHz) belongs to PPC, i586, or x86_64 OR some other such as i686.

Can anyone please look at the above link and tell me which specific ISO files should I download to burn them on CD's.

Please respond a.s.a.p. and i ll be thankful to all.

Edit: I would appreciate any other sources from where to download any working version of Mandriva as well. So, all comments are welcome.
    Thank you in advance

Pretty sure i586.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

Just Joined!
    You need the i585 or i686 iso's. I have not used Mandriva since it was called Mandrake so I'm sure some suggestions of where to to get ISO's will come along

Peace V

Just Joined!

Problem

I want to make sure that the downloaded files are compatible with my system:
    Mandriva-Linux-Free-2006-CD1.i586.iso
    Mandriva-Linux-Free-2006-CD2.i586.iso
    Mandriva-Linux-Free-2006-CD3.i586.iso

I have burnt these three i585 ISO images to CD's. But when I insert the first disk and reboot from CD-ROM, it gives me option to:
    1. F2 for more options (which takes me to MS-DOS like coding which I dont know any commands for)
    2. Press ENter for Install or Upgrade