Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
hey all , i just downloaded Linux Mandriva Live CD/Install CD . The Problem I am having is that it WILL NOT work on my new HP it gets halfway ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    8

    Can't install Mandriva


    hey all , i just downloaded Linux Mandriva Live CD/Install CD . The Problem I am having is that it WILL NOT work on my new HP it gets halfway through the boot and locks up. .... It works completely fine on my old compaq . the Hp Specs are Intel Pent. 4 2.40 GHz 1 Gig of RAM and a 160 GB Seagate Hard Drive . so yeah anyone who can help me it would be greatly appreciated.

    thanks in advance

    -john

  2. #2
    Linux User muha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    290
    Welcome!
    You need to specify some more specific information like:
    - where exactly does it lock up?
    - any warning/error messages?
    Now what? You have Linux installed and running. The GUI is working fine, but you are getting tired of changing your desktop themes. You keep seeing this "terminal" thing. Don't worry, they'll show you what to do @
    <~ http://www.linuxcommand.org/ ~>

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by muha
    Welcome!
    You need to specify some more specific information like:
    - where exactly does it lock up?
    - any warning/error messages?

    ok well .... the first time it locked it said Kernel Panic , but when i tried it again it just locks up nothing about Kernel Panic or anything .

  4. #4
    Linux User truoc444's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Southern Roots, Stuck in the Mountains
    Posts
    348
    is there an option to boot with acpi disabled? i've had problems with that on laptops int he past.
    Desktop: Dual Xeon 2.8 GHz 1.5 GB RAM Ubuntu/XP Pro
    Laptop: Macbook 2 GHz C2Duo 3 GB RAM OS X/ Ubuntu/ XP Pro
    Linux Registration #396559

    Go 'Stros!

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by truoc444
    is there an option to boot with acpi disabled? i've had problems with that on laptops int he past.
    hm... the CD doesnt give me any boot options .. is the acpi disable option in my System BIOS?

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    8
    ok i ran the live cd and heres the error code and this time the kernel did panic... so yea ......

    Code: e8 13 37 c0 a3 e4 13 37 c0 58 c9 c3 8d b6 00 00 00 00 8d bc 27 00 00 00 00 55 8b 15 ac 7a 40 c0 89 e5 42 89 15 ac 7a 40 c0 31 d2 <87> 15 60 d0 ff ff ba 00 e0 ff 21 w2 8b 4a 14 81 c1 00 00 01

    <0> Kernel Panic - Not Syncing! Fatal Exception in interrupt.


    not sure if that helps at all



    -john

  7. #7
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Did you try the boot option:
    Code:
    linux acpi=off
    ?

    Or
    Code:
    linux acpi=off nolapic
    ?
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    Did you try the boot option:
    Code:
    linux acpi=off
    ?

    Or
    Code:
    linux acpi=off nolapic
    ?
    any idea how to get to the boot options?

  9. #9
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Booting from the CD, you should see a screen like that:
    http://doc.mandrivalinux.com/Mandrak...akx-intro.html

    There you can enter boot parameters, press F1 to know exactly which ones you can specify.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    Booting from the CD, you should see a screen like that:
    http://doc.mandrivalinux.com/Mandrak...akx-intro.html

    There you can enter boot parameters, press F1 to know exactly which ones you can specify.

    ok ive tried that it says it cant find linux kernel but i just installed the thing on my old computer with no problems at all so .... not sure wats wrong with this HP


    p.s. Ive also tried Slax Live CD and Gnoppix Live CD on this computer and none of the 3 live disks that i have will boot they all have kernel panic .. just thought that might help a little bit

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •