Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
First off, this is my first post but I've noticed that this forum seems to be full of newcommers having trouble with installs. I appologize that I am adding one ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Wireless

First off, this is my first post but I've noticed that this forum seems to be full of newcommers having trouble with installs. I appologize that I am adding one more, but hopefully theres a lot of experianced people here with big hearts
    Anyway, on to the problem

I've never used linux before in my life but decided to give it a try and through doing some research ended up choosing Mandriva. I dled a Mandriva One 2006 .iso and booted up the live version. Everything going well. I clicked the live install on the desktop and set up a dual boot with windows, everything still going well until the network configuration. I'm trying to install on a laptop that ideally would make use of a home wireless network. When I chose the wireless option I got the following error

some packages(madwifi-kernal) required but not availavble

It told me I could get these from http://madwifi.sourceforge.net. I went to the website and as a linux newcommer felt very intimidated. I'm not sure what to download and honestly I'm not sure how I would even go about installing it.

Sorry if this post is elementary, if it should be in a beginer section of the forum or something like that please direct me to it. Otherwise, I would definately appreciate any help you guys could give and really get started exploring Mandriva.

Linux Guru