Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I'm getting the above message when I try to setup my wireless in my laptop. I found the rt61.inf driver from the windows partition, and still get that message. When ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Key West, FL
    Posts
    6

    Unable to find the ndiswrapper interface!


    I'm getting the above message when I try to setup my wireless in my laptop. I found the rt61.inf driver from the windows partition, and still get that message.

    When I type "ndiswrapper -l" it says:

    rt61 invalid driver!

    But that's the driver it uses under windows...

    I'm on a Averatec 7100 series laptop.

    I also can't get it to find the integrated network card (not wireless) but that's not a big deal right now.

    Please help?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Linux User towy71's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    West Wales
    Posts
    322
    you actually have to install the driver, so copy the rt61.inf file to somewhere in you linux partition and the type:
    Code:
    ndiswrapper -i /parh/to/rt61.inf
    Then it ought to work
    free/libre/open software for the people by the people
    Linux user #185360

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Key West, FL
    Posts
    6
    I tried that, and got:

    rt61 is already installed. Use -e to remove it

    ???

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2

    using ndsiwrapper

    Can this command be used at the prompt regardless of the directory? Will all I need to change in the command is the .ini name if trying to use the wrapper for another driver? Also - will this enalbe the OS to recognize the wireless card - which it currently cannot. (DLink DWL-G510 A1)

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Key West, FL
    Posts
    6
    it seems to work from anywhere... when I used it to install I made sure I was in the directory where the .INF file was though...

    I've forgetten all of my unix/linux, it's been a few years...

  6. #6
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    Did you copy over the .sys file too? If you didn't try having the .sys and .inf file together when you try. If on the other hand you did it might be worth downloading the latest drivers for your card.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Key West, FL
    Posts
    6
    I got the linux drivers for the card, where in the dir. structure do I put them? they came as a tar.gz file... no RPMs for me

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •