Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Okay, I am new to Linux, I mean COMPLETELY. I need some help. First off, HOW do I get FireFox? I have downloaded it and there is nothing easy like ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

I am an Idiot!

Okay, I am new to Linux, I mean COMPLETELY.

I need some help.

First off, HOW do I get FireFox? I have downloaded it and there is nothing easy like Windblows, so how Do I get it to work?

Second, Email? How do I get email. I used Thunderbird, Can I use it on Linux? If so How do I configure it to work. AS you know you can not just click "Install" Like Windblows. I need some help!

Third, Any good books? Is there a "For Dummies" Series on Mandriva (Mandrake) Linux? Or is there a better book. I thought I heard of one from O'Reily?

Any Help is appreciated.

Just Joined!
    acutally as well. I see when you download files, they are usually compressed in TAR TGZ???

How do I "Uncompress"

I am so stupid

Okay, no comment to the title of this thread.

First of all: We were all new to linux once and you will need a bit of time until you will feel at home with it.

Firefox is included by default in Mandriva, although 2006 does not ship with 1.5 but 1.06 (the latest stable release before the developing of 1.5 began). Thunderbird is also available. I suggest you go to the easyuprmi site http://easyurpmi.zarb.org/ and set up some software mirrors for your "i586" machine, using urpmi (and not smart). The mirrors available there allow you to download thousands of apps with one mouseclick later. Once this is finished (it ain't hard. just a bit of copy&paste from the webbrowser into a terminal), run from the terminal (black monitor icon) as root user (type "su" to become root and enter the password):

urpmi mozilla-firefox thunderbird