Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
guys i am facing the mounting problem in mandriva 2006 on startup even i have mention the file, that has to be mounted, in /etc/fstab. Can anyone plz help me ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4

    Mounting problem in Mandriva 2006


    guys

    i am facing the mounting problem in mandriva 2006 on startup even i have mention the file, that has to be mounted, in /etc/fstab. Can anyone plz help me out of this problem

    thanks in advance

    Hammad

  2. #2
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Hi - I don't fully understand your question. What are you trying to mount? It may help if you post your fstab contents here (you could cut and paste this information from a command line). Try:

    cat /etc/fstab

    Bye for now - fingal

    EDIT: to see what is / is not mounted just type mount and look at the output.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4

    Mounting problem in Mandriva

    Fingle thanks for ur quick response

    plz have a look on the my fstab file shown below

    LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
    devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
    LABEL=/home /home ext3 defaults 1 2
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
    LABEL=/usr1 /usr ext3 defaults 1 2
    LABEL=SWAP-hda5 swap swap defaults 0 0
    cmsint:/raid/contentlatest/ /mnt/content/ nfs defaults,rw 0 0



    in some systems on our local system the same script has been written in /etc/fstab, but the problem is in the line that i have bold, that sometime that harddrive never mount on startup but it happends some time. I have tried this with some diiferent options also. Please help me out of this

    Thanks again in advance

    Hammad Khan

  4. #4
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Hi maleem

    I must admit, I'm not the right person to answer your question for the following reasons:

    - I'm just a desktop user and I've never used a RAID system;
    - I've never used the nfs file system.

    But I think I helped by getting you to post your fstab, so with a bit of luck someone (with a decent answer) will reply to you. Good luck!

    - fingal
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4
    Thanks fingle

    Hammad khan


    Quote Originally Posted by fingal
    Hi maleem

    I must admit, I'm not the right person to answer your question for the following reasons:

    - I'm just a desktop user and I've never used a RAID system;
    - I've never used the nfs file system.

    But I think I helped by getting you to post your fstab, so with a bit of luck someone (with a decent answer) will reply to you. Good luck!

    - fingal

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •